Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

1866: The Struggle for Supremacy in Germany» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ccombat procedure clarification ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Capt. Jacques Moineau
msg tools
I have a small question regarding combat procedure.

Rule 11.2 (step 4) says "You may take less than the required loss if it is not possible to meet the loss exactly and would require exceeding the cohesion loss factor."

Does that mean that, for example, a unit with a cohesion factor of 3 suffering 1 cohesion hit during combat

1/ Won't be flipped (because it "would require exceeding the cohesion loss factor", i.e. it would require 3 cohesion loss factors to flip it).

or

2/ Will be flipped nevertheless ?

Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Answer: 1/ Won't be flipped.

You can *never* be forced to take more hits than inflicted by the CRT. You must distribute losses so that the total comes as close as possible to the CRT result.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Capt. Jacques Moineau
msg tools
Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John B. Firer
United States
Glendale
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Capt. Moineau:

Dave is correct. In your example, the corps would not be flipped. Keep in mind though that the number of CFs rendered against each side determines the winner whether or not actual losses are taken.

Enjoy,

LTC JBF
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Capt. Jacques Moineau
msg tools
Thanks vm for this clarification John.
Great game design btw with a high replay value thanks to the mobilization rules. thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.