Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
19 Posts

Arcadia Quest: Inferno» Forums » Rules

Subject: Resurrecting heroes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniele Silvi
Italy
Rome
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
How many heroes can be resurrected per rest? One or everyone? And what about pets as well?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Roy
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
everyone gets resurrected and all cards become unexhausted. pets too.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniele Silvi
Italy
Rome
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Official? Because it isn't so clear from rule book...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mighty Jack
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the rule book:

Quote:
RESURRECT HEROES
Any of the player’s killed Heroes may be resurrected and brought back into the game. Remove all Wound tokens from that Hero only and place his gure back on the board. The resurrected Hero can be placed either on that Guild’s Starting Area, or Close to any allied Hero that was already on the board at the beginning of his turn.


Yah I can see that they could have said, "All of the player's killed heroes..." but it means all are resurrected and healed, but your living heroes do NOT heal while resting.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thaddeus MacTaggart
Netherlands
Almere Buiten
Flevoland
flag msg tools
badge
Blood Rage fan - Raven Clan
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But you don't have to resurrect (all of) them when you rest?

A few days ago we played AQ and one player deliberately didn't resurrect one of his heroes but used him as a stash to put all the found treasure on so it was safe and couldn't be stolen by other players.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Castle
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Heroes drop any treasure they carry when they die, and you can't put treasure on them while they're still dead.
I'm pretty sure that it's optional to resurrect as players with Astral Strike and similar would benefit from keeping certain Heroes dead.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christoph Weber
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Teowulff wrote:
But you don't have to resurrect (all of) them when you rest?

A few days ago we played AQ and one player deliberately didn't resurrect one of his heroes but used him as a stash to put all the found treasure on so it was safe and couldn't be stolen by other players.


I'd say it clearly is against the spirit of the game to give a dead hero things to save them from being stolen. Therefore I'd rule that either
1. All heroes must be resurrected when resting.
2. You can't give a dead hero things.

The rules are a bit unclear on this (again...). They allow the full redistribution of items when resting, but imo that is because they also expect all heroes to resurrect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christoph Weber
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Bouncy wrote:
Heroes drop any treasure they carry when they die, and you can't put treasure on them while they're still dead.
I'm pretty sure that it's optional to resurrect as players with Astral Strike and similar would benefit from keeping certain Heroes dead.


The rules are:
Quote:

■ REORGANIZE ITEMS
The player may reorganize his cards, moving any number of them
among any of his Heroes. Death Curse cards, however, cannot
be moved around.
Exploration tokens can also be moved among any of his Heroes,
though Quest tokens cannot be moved and must remain with
the Hero that collected it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thaddeus MacTaggart
Netherlands
Almere Buiten
Flevoland
flag msg tools
badge
Blood Rage fan - Raven Clan
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
webs1 wrote:
The rules are:
Quote:

■ REORGANIZE ITEMS
The player may reorganize his cards, moving any number of them among any of his Heroes. Death Curse cards, however, cannot be moved around.
Exploration tokens can also be moved among any of his Heroes, though Quest tokens cannot be moved and must remain with the Hero that collected it.

So .. nothing in the rules prevents it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Castle
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I guess if you want to drop your team to two heroes for the sake of guarding your treasure, then it's your call.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig B
Australia
Mount Hawthorn
Western Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Teowulff wrote:
But you don't have to resurrect (all of) them when you rest?

A few days ago we played AQ and one player deliberately didn't resurrect one of his heroes but used him as a stash to put all the found treasure on so it was safe and couldn't be stolen by other players.


That player cheated. If you drop treasure when you're dead you can't carry treasure when you're dead either.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Troy
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A hero does not retain any Exploration tokens when killed:

From the rules page 18 under "Kills and Rewards"

"When a Hero is killed, any Exploration tokens (including Quest
tokens) he was carrying are placed on the Space he was occupying,
and they can then be picked up by another Hero normally.
If the Hero was killed by an enemy Hero, that Hero can
automatically take one of those tokens and place it on his Hero
card (he doesn't even have to be near the killed Hero)."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Hurd
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed here. Dead heroes cannot carry, keep or receive any tokens. If they cannot carry them when they get killed it makes no sense that they could carry them while they are dead.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thaddeus MacTaggart
Netherlands
Almere Buiten
Flevoland
flag msg tools
badge
Blood Rage fan - Raven Clan
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Carcking wrote:
Agreed here. Dead heroes cannot carry, keep or receive any tokens.
If they cannot carry them when they get killed it makes no sense that they could carry them while they are dead.

I agree it makes no sense - but rule-wise it's not forbidden.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christoph Weber
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Teowulff wrote:
Carcking wrote:
Agreed here. Dead heroes cannot carry, keep or receive any tokens.
If they cannot carry them when they get killed it makes no sense that they could carry them while they are dead.

I agree it makes no sense - but rule-wise it's not forbidden.


So what?
There are so many holes in CMON rules that it doesn't make much sense to argue like this.
In a case where the spirit of the rules is as clear as here, house-ruling should be a no-brainer.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hugues Richard
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
What matters in life is not the triumph nor the struggle but the triumph by tie breaker.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Carcking wrote:
Agreed here. Dead heroes cannot carry, keep or receive any tokens. If they cannot carry them when they get killed it makes no sense that they could carry them while they are dead.

Yet, they can carry activation tokens and if I'm not mistaken respawn with 'em. Is it more logical to be dead and exhausted, alive again but still exhausted.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gutripper
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can a newly resurrected hero respawning in his own start zone, pick up loot dropped on a space there and also immediately reorganize them off to another character somewhere else?

Is there any kind of order in the three actions done when you rest that has to be respected ( unexhaust then reprganize then resurrect) or can uou do them all in any order and any way you please?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Claudio M
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Gutripper wrote:
Can a newly resurrected hero respawning in his own start zone, pick up loot dropped on a space there and also immediately reorganize them off to another character somewhere else?

Is there any kind of order in the three actions done when you rest that has to be respected ( unexhaust then reprganize then resurrect) or can uou do them all in any order and any way you please?


You can pick up loot only during a hero's turn and only with that hero. When you rest your guild, none of your heroes take a turn. So you cannot pick up anything during rest.

Re-spawing and re-organizing loot among heroes are done in any order, as that doesn't make a difference in the end.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Hurd
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oninohugo wrote:
Carcking wrote:
Agreed here. Dead heroes cannot carry, keep or receive any tokens. If they cannot carry them when they get killed it makes no sense that they could carry them while they are dead.

Yet, they can carry activation tokens and if I'm not mistaken respawn with 'em. Is it more logical to be dead and exhausted, alive again but still exhausted.

The hero resurrected while resting will be removing any exhaustion tokens. They would not respawn with them from a rest action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.