BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Blood Rage or Troyes? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Theodore Moffett
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
I have heard great praise for both games and I am wondering which game is the better option. I really like worker placement games but I also enjoy drafting. I haven't had too much experience with area control so I can't speak about my preference on that. Also, I am not necessarily sure if the miniatures would be counted as a positive or negative in my book as I have had very little experience with them... I used to own Cyclades (kinda counts) and I guess the little guys were kinda cool.

Both seem to be about the right game length. I do play 2 players quite frequently with my wife and I read that Troyes is pretty good with 2, while Blood Rage is just okay. Also, price for each game is comparable.

Can anyone give me any recommendations between the two? Thanks so much!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael J
United States
Folsom
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Blood Rage is stunning, component-wise. The Monster minis are out of this world, and really shouldn't even be called minis they are so big. The game play is cool, and the drafting is cool. BUT, my guess is it would be somewhat flat with 2. And my only real concern about the game is the sameness of strategies from game to game; your strategies are based on the card you draft and there aren't that many types. I would have liked more variety to keep the game fresh, but if you don't plan on playing it a ton, it's probably still really good. The game definitely shines with the meta, but that requires a little dedication to get there in a group. It's a good game (a 7 to me) that is improved to an 8 because of its awesome minis.