Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Allegiance: A Realm Divided» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bat form question... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
A S
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can Nalissa's units be targeted while she's in bat form? Say, by a Zephyr Bow?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trent Y.
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pretty sure the answer is yes.

I don't remember what the Bat form text says but this game is pretty literal. If the rule says that she cannot be targeted, then only she cannot be targeted. If the rule says that she and her units cannot be targeted, then that's that.

However, to be clear, your units can only declare attacks on the enemy hero, so you wouldn't be able to declare attacks against her. But special effects that break that rule (such as the one unit vs one unit fights that some heroes have) or the bow that can target a unit are special cases.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A S
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That seemed right to us, too.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Stet
United States
Chaska
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ZUR13L wrote:
Can Nalissa's units be targeted while she's in bat form? Say, by a Zephyr Bow?


Trent Y. is correct - here's what the abilities state:


"Bat Form: Until your next turn, your hero cannot be attacked and your hero's weapon cannot be defended against."

Zephyr Box "attach to target unit. The attached unit gains [exhaust]: Deal 1 damage to target unit or hero."

Nalissa's ability only states she can't be attacked. since individual units can't be attacked, only heroes (page 20 - declaring attackers) no one can attack her this turn. This does not prevent things like Zephyr Bow from targeting Nalissa or any of her units because you only need to exhaust the attached unit to deal the 1 point of damage, not declare them an attacker.

Hero abilities like Thedric Egen's "Arm the Catapults" works the same way. He can't attack Nalissa with his weapon this turn, but he could still use this ability and target Nalissa or any of her units to deal the damage from this ability.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.