Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Evolution: Climate» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dealing cards: 4 or 5 at the first turn? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
SwatSh
Belgium
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

The rules say: Deal 4 cards + 1 for each species.
Is a specie board already a specie? In other words, during the first turn of the game, do we deal 4 or 5 cards?
If it is 5, does it mean that we never deal 4 cards?

Thanks for your help
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Munch
Denmark
Lystrup
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A species board is always a species, no matter if it has specialised traits or not. A minimum of 5 cards will always be dealt.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Morten K
Denmark
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
5 cards is my interpretation and 4 is possible if all your species die out in one turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Beri
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Note that if you play without the climate layer, it’s 3 cards + 1 for each species.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris in Kansai
Japan
Otsu
Shiga
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tigrillo wrote:
5 cards is my interpretation and 4 is possible if all your species die out in one turn.


The first thing that happens in the Deal Cards phase is "Place a Species Board in front of every player who does not have one", so it'll always be at least 5 cards.
11 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
SwatSh
Belgium
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chrysm wrote:
Tigrillo wrote:
5 cards is my interpretation and 4 is possible if all your species die out in one turn.


The first thing that happens in the Deal Cards phase is "Place a Species Board in front of every player who does not have one", so it'll always be at least 5 cards.


Clear. Thank you all very much for your help.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also the word is "species" when plural or singular. Not "specie"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.