Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Difference between "attack" and "attack action" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
nicolas debord
France
Montfort-sur-meu
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Well... All is in the title...

what is an "entire attack action" ? (saw on minor power potion)
why not simply "attack" ?

thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom
Cullompton
Devon
flag msg tools
designer
Check out all my instructional How to Play videos at youtube.com/GamingRulesVideos
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If one card allows you to attack multiple people, that is one attack action causing multiple attacks.

Some items give you a bonus for just one attack. Some of them give you a bonus for the entire attack action, meaning it applies to each of those attack.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonio Caciolli
Italy
Padua
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
from the FAQ ( https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1687146/official-faq/page/1 ):

What's the difference between an attack and an attack action?
And attack is a single attack on a single target that flips over a single attack modifier card. And attack action constitutes all the attacks made with a specific action (entire top or bottom half of an ability card). If your attack action is, say, "Attack 3," then there is only one attack in your attack action. If it is "Attack 2, Target 3," then your attack action consists of three separate attacks.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nicolas debord
France
Montfort-sur-meu
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
ok, got it
can't find it in the faq...
it's a fat one, so...

thanks again
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Isaac Childres
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CTRL-F is your friend.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lalo LoL
msg tools
mb
What if 2 cards both with attack action, one on top the other in bottom, then is considered only one attack action or two? Can advantage of the eagle eye googles be applied to both?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fre kol
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mb
drsesi wrote:
What if 2 cards both with attack action, one on top the other in bottom, then is considered only one attack action or two? Can advantage of the eagle eye googles be applied to both?


That’s two actions. So, no, you’ll have to pick one of those for the goggles.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yaniv Cahoua
Israel
flag msg tools
What about Attack 2 Move 2 Attack 2?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michael ray
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Yaniv Cahoua wrote:
What about Attack 2 Move 2 Attack 2?


Two different attack actions, each with 1 attack.

EDIT: I was wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
squegeeboo wrote:
Yaniv Cahoua wrote:
What about Attack 2 Move 2 Attack 2?


Two different attack actions, each with 1 attack.


Disagree. That's one single attack action, consisting of two attacks.

An action is defined as one half of the card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michael ray
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Dexter345 wrote:
squegeeboo wrote:
Yaniv Cahoua wrote:
What about Attack 2 Move 2 Attack 2?


Two different attack actions, each with 1 attack.


Disagree. That's one single attack action, consisting of two attacks.

An action is defined as one half of the card.


Huh, looks like you're right...an action is the top or bottom of a character card, and if it says 'attack' on it, it's an attack action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.