Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Glorantha: The Gods War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Crimson Bat's ability Mind Blast and Mistress's ability Hunger rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jojo l'Asticot
France
flag msg tools
(pre-battle) MindBlast: if the Crimson Bat is in a Battle, you may choose to substract his Combat from the enemy total instead of adding it to your own
Hunger (Battle): instead of rolling her die, Mistress automatically inflicts a Kill in Battle. Alternatively you may choose to have her inflinct 2 Routs instead.


How does these two work together? If the Bat reduce the Darnkess combat score to 0, can the Mistress still choose to inflict kill or routs?
And what if the combat score is not reduce to 0, who choose wich units is at 0 score? (for example: a half moon Crimson Bat VS a Mistress and 3 Trolls)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Starks
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Mistress's ability effectively replaces her combat, and so is unaffected by Mindblast. Beyond that, combat is something that's totaled per side, not per unit. So if Mistress + 3 Trolls are against a Half-Moon Crimson Bat and it uses Mindblast, then both sides would roll 0 dice (though Mistress would still Auto-Kill the Bat).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jojo l'Asticot
France
flag msg tools
Ok thank you for this fast answer. I suppose this is Petersen approved, but then maybe the Hunger ability should be reworded. Because as MindBlast is a pre-battle ability, how can the Mistress choose not to roll a dice she can't roll anyway?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guillaume Andriot
France
flag msg tools
This is a tricky one.

The mistress ability is that she can choose to not roll her die to inflict a kill or 2 rout instead, but can she do that if she has no dice to forfeit to begin with ?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lincoln Petersen
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems plain to me. She can choose to either roll dice or use her ability they're not conditional to each other.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Starks
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
0 dice is still a quantity of dice which she can choose to roll or not roll.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lincoln Petersen
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AdamStarks wrote:
0 dice is still a quantity of dice which she can choose to roll or not roll.


What this guy that worded it better said. Written is not my love language so to speak.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.