Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you move less than the printed amount on the card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Berget
United States
Sacramento
CA
flag msg tools
Game Night Host
badge
Game Night Host
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We've been playing that you can move up to that many spaces but I didn't see a hard ruling on it in the rulebook or the FAQ. Are we right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
http://www.penny-arcade.com/comic/2007/03/28
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
First sentence on rulebook page 19: A “Move X” ability allows a character to move up to X number of hexes on the map.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Berget
United States
Sacramento
CA
flag msg tools
Game Night Host
badge
Game Night Host
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, jeez, thanks. Should've looked harder.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom
Cullompton
Devon
flag msg tools
designer
Check out all my instructional How to Play videos at youtube.com/GamingRulesVideos
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
3rd time this has been asked in the last week?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PaulGrogan wrote:
3rd time this has been asked in the last week?


FAQ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Laurin
Australia
Perth
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hahma wrote:
PaulGrogan wrote:
3rd time this has been asked in the last week?


FAQ?

For something in the rulebook? cry
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MrTroy wrote:
Hahma wrote:
PaulGrogan wrote:
3rd time this has been asked in the last week?


FAQ?

For something in the rulebook? cry


I was joking, thus the

It's just another in a long list of questions for things that are in the rulebook.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Laurin
Australia
Perth
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gotcha. Wonder if you heard the "whoosh" from there?

Of the joke going over my head.

Luckily jokes are funnier when explained.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Latimore
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
MrTroy wrote:
Hahma wrote:
PaulGrogan wrote:
3rd time this has been asked in the last week?


FAQ?

For something in the rulebook? cry


FAQs are FAQs. Doesn't matter if they are in the book or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Laurin
Australia
Perth
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
alphasquid wrote:
FAQs are FAQs. Doesn't matter if they are in the book or not.

Yes and no. The FAQ is already huge. The rulebook is still bigger.

If someone is asking a question that's covered by the rulebook because they didn't read it or couldn't remember that section, having a second copy of the same information in the FAQ makes the problem bigger, not smaller.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Latimore
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
MrTroy wrote:
alphasquid wrote:
FAQs are FAQs. Doesn't matter if they are in the book or not.

Yes and no. The FAQ is already huge. The rulebook is still bigger.

If someone is asking a question that's covered by the rulebook because they didn't read it or couldn't remember that section, having a second copy of the same information in the FAQ makes the problem bigger, not smaller.


Then dont complain when people come here to ask FAQs that aren't covered in the FAQ.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GAF Blizzard
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
alphasquid wrote:
MrTroy wrote:
alphasquid wrote:
FAQs are FAQs. Doesn't matter if they are in the book or not.

Yes and no. The FAQ is already huge. The rulebook is still bigger.

If someone is asking a question that's covered by the rulebook because they didn't read it or couldn't remember that section, having a second copy of the same information in the FAQ makes the problem bigger, not smaller.


Then dont complain when people come here to ask FAQs that aren't covered in the FAQ.

I've already seen someone literally say they couldn't find something in the FAQ, and that the FAQ is too big, when it can literally be found with using Ctrl-F on the FAQ.

Either way, the amount of posts we've used complaining about people asking about things that are in the rules/FAQ is itself spamming the board, sorta.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Laurin
Australia
Perth
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
alphasquid wrote:
Then dont complain when people come here to ask FAQs that aren't covered in the FAQ.

I'm not sure why you think that someone who has missed something in the manual would be familiar with the FAQ. It's also easy to miss or misinterpret things in either the manual or the FAQ, so often it's just easiest to fire off a quick question.

I have zero issues with people asking questions that are covered in the FAQ or the manual. Those are the easiest questions to answer, and take nearly no time to answer.

It's a trifle annoying for the same question to be asked repeatedly, but BGG's search function isn't very good so I don't really blame people for not using it. So no complaint from me there, either.

Where I do have complaint is the idea that the FAQ should duplicate the rulebook rather than clarify it.

GAFBlizzard wrote:
Either way, the amount of posts we've used complaining about people asking about things that are in the rules/FAQ is itself spamming the board, sorta.

Technically true. I'm working on the hope that people that aren't interested in this discussion aren't reading it
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.