Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

War Returns to Europe: Yugoslavia 1991» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ambush question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter L Rosenast
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question concerning ambushes. If a JNA unit moves into another hex that is occupied by another JNA unit but that hex is also in the ZOC of a ZNG unit, is the JNA unit currently occupying the hex subject to the ambush? Is an ambush attack different than a combat in that a combat requires that all units in a defending hex be attacked, but an ambush only affects moving units? Is an ambush an exception to all units in a defending hex? And as a corollary, if the ZNG unit is located on the opposite side of the hex into which the JNA is moving into a JNA occupied hex, shouldn't the pre-occupant be involved (i.e. the ZNG is to the east of the hex occupied by the JNA unit and the moving JNA unit is entering the hex from the west)? It seems that the ZNG unit would have to go through the current JNA occupant to make his ambush. Seems counter intuitive to reality. Any clarification would be helpful. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Javier Romero
Spain
Cerdanyola
Barcelona
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ambush only affects moving units entering an unoccupied hex adjacent to enemy units capable of Ambush attacks. You are entering an “unexplored” hex, so to speak, and the enemy knows (thanks to the local populace) where are you going, which roads are you using, and how many troops are there, while you are “in the dark” about the enemy’s whereabouts.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Javier Romero
Spain
Cerdanyola
Barcelona
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
If a JNA unit moves into another hex that is occupied by another JNA unit but that hex is also in the ZOC of a ZNG unit, is the JNA unit currently occupying the hex subject to the ambush?


No it isn't.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Hill
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
What is to stop a single unit in a stack splitting off and moving into an unoccupied enemy zoc, thus triggering an ambush against it, and then the rest of the stack moving into the now occupied hex (assuming the original unit survives the ambush)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.