Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

Warfighter: The WWII Tactical Combat Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mortar Attacking Bunker rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Rohrman
United States
Antioch - 60002
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
So I just finished "playing" my first play through game. Solo.

Depending on how this question pans out - I either Lost Horribly OR Pulled off a Comeback from Heck...

Last Soldier Turn.

Mission = Just Another Day.

Objective = Bunker Clearing.
Hostiles Screen.
Bunker can only be attacked from Range 0.

McDougall is the only PS and has all the cards.
He is stuck on the Mission Card on space 1.
He has a Mortar Support card.

Taylor is dead - he contributed Zero to the mission - went down quick.

Smith and Walsh somehow manage to climb out of The Warehouse on Square 2 and Rush The Bunker on Space 3.
They quickly dispatch all the hostiles.
They are out of actions.
Resting and drinking cold coffee waiting for McDougall to radio in the coordinates of the Empty Bunker to the Mortar Team.

McDougall plays the Mortar Support Card.
He beats the cover and scores a few hits on the bunker...

I win?

OR...

I Lose?

Does McDougall have to be drinking coffee with the rest of the squad in square 3 to play the mortar card to attack the bunker?

Does he have to be at range 0?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David in Sydney (now in Coffs)
Australia
Coffs Harbour
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You lose cry

But not because of the PS being in Location 1 when he calls fire - just that Support Cards cannot be used to destroy the objective. shake

A hint - play the mission/objective again - but recon an easier location (such as crops) - the large warehouse is great as an example for the rules - but a tough location for a low RP section.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Graham
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I did the same thing on one of my first missions. I posted the AAR on the solitaire wargamers group and Dan himself called me out on my illegal use of my action cards! Doh! Now I know, doesn't mean I always follow the rule if I am in a pickle! Anything goes in war!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Rohrman
United States
Antioch - 60002
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
DANGITT!

You Are Right -

The Mortar Card Says:
"Once Each Soldier Turn, Attack a Hostile Card."

Crap....

Thought I had it all worked out...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David in Sydney (now in Coffs)
Australia
Coffs Harbour
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Storm_72 wrote:
DANGITT!

You Are Right -

The Mortar Card Says:
"Once Each Soldier Turn, Attack a Hostile Card."

Crap....

Thought I had it all worked out...


It is one of those critical special rules - if you want to do it RAW (Rules As Written)

When the Objective is a Hostile Card (eg Tank Hunting), you still cannot use a Support action card to kill the Tank... your soldiers have to be the physical agent of destruction - otherwise why are they getting paid?

An infantryman's lot is not a happy one! arrrh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Logs
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dave is there a rules page ref for this (objective is Hostile card - no support action to kill it)? It sounds familiar to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David in Sydney (now in Coffs)
Australia
Coffs Harbour
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ncree wrote:
Dave is there a rules page ref for this (objective is Hostile card - no support action to kill it)? It sounds familiar to me.


Page 36

Some Objectives have a single
target that must be Destroyed
to complete the Mission.

and

Some Action cards target Hostile cards. These Action cards
cannot attack the target in an Objective card. They can
however attack the Hostile cards in an Objective card.

Example: A Mortar Support Action card cannot target the
Tank in the Tank Hunting Objective, but it can target a Hostile
card in the Tank Hunting Objective card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Logs
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you sir.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Rohrman
United States
Antioch - 60002
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
davidinsydney2 wrote:
ncree wrote:
Dave is there a rules page ref for this (objective is Hostile card - no support action to kill it)? It sounds familiar to me.



Example: A Mortar Support Action card cannot target the
Tank in the Tank Hunting Objective, but it can target a Hostile
card in the Tank Hunting Objective card.


SO...

With that being said...

If the PS Plays a Mortar Support Card - does the Mortared Hostile Card have to be in the same location as the PS?

OR

Can the Mortar "Bring The Rains" on any Hostile Card in any location?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David in Sydney (now in Coffs)
Australia
Coffs Harbour
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Mortar Support can hit any Hostile Card* in any Location. arrrh

So too can the Sniper Support ninja

and the Tank Support (Mission)! robot

* Except as noted on page 36.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Logs
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
davidinsydney2 wrote:
ncree wrote:
Dave is there a rules page ref for this (objective is Hostile card - no support action to kill it)? It sounds familiar to me.


Page 36

Some Objectives have a single
target that must be Destroyed
to complete the Mission.

and

Some Action cards target Hostile cards. These Action cards
cannot attack the target in an Objective card. They can
however attack the Hostile cards in an Objective card.

Example: A Mortar Support Action card cannot target the
Tank in the Tank Hunting Objective, but it can target a Hostile
card in the Tank Hunting Objective card.


I think a wording tweak might help in the rule above:

"Some Action cards target Hostile cards. These Action cards
cannot attack the target in an Objective card even if it is a Hostile card. They can however attack the other Hostile cards in an Objective card.


2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manu Muñoz
Spain
Spain
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One doubt, please. Then, does not move the hostiles screens in the bunker? Does not they move in the enemy turn?
Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David in Sydney (now in Coffs)
Australia
Coffs Harbour
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
br0ker wrote:
One doubt, please. Then, does not move the hostiles screens in the bunker? Does not they move in the enemy turn?
Thank you.


The Hostiles that are in the objective will (if able) move to get into range of the Soldier that they are targeting.

This may result in them leaving the Objective.

Does that answer your question?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manu Muñoz
Spain
Spain
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, thank you very much. Another question, please. If the hostiles leave the objective of the bunker, are they no longer a hostile screen?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David in Sydney (now in Coffs)
Australia
Coffs Harbour
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
br0ker wrote:
Yes, thank you very much. Another question, please. If the hostiles leave the objective of the bunker, are they no longer a hostile screen?


They only screen the bunker if they are in the Objective location.

If they move out they don't screen the bunker.

However - any hostile that moves into the bunker location screen it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manu Muñoz
Spain
Spain
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perfect! Thank you very much!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.