Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Castles of Mad King Ludwig» Forums » Rules

Subject: Activity Room Penalty -Corridor Connecting Twice rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Pole
Canada
Manitoba
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick Question:

What if you have a corridor that connects twice to an activity room, does penalty from the activity room get subtracted twice from the point score because two doors connect both rooms? Or is the penalty only per adjacent room?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Steck
United States
Benton
Arkansas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Activity room penalties have nothing to do with doors, it's walls that matter.

As a general rule each room will only trigger an adjacent room's bonus/penalty once.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Schmitt
United States
South Portland
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cubbieblue wrote:
Activity room penalties have nothing to do with doors, it's walls that matter.

As a general rule each room will only trigger an adjacent room's bonus/penalty once.


We might need a fresh ruling if an expansion with U-shaped rooms is introduced.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
The rule is straight forward. The wall room is/isn't adjacent to an activity room(s). The is/isn't part is where you determine the penalty or not.

Edit: The room checks for penalty, not walls. The room as a whole gets a penalty, a single penalty if it matches the condition.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Steck
United States
Benton
Arkansas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whangdoodle wrote:
cubbieblue wrote:
Activity room penalties have nothing to do with doors, it's walls that matter.

As a general rule each room will only trigger an adjacent room's bonus/penalty once.


We might need a fresh ruling if an expansion with U-shaped rooms is introduced.


Why exactly? You still only trigger scoring once for each room the placed room is adjacent to. How does having a U-shaped room change that?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Schmitt
United States
South Portland
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cubbieblue wrote:
Whangdoodle wrote:
cubbieblue wrote:
Activity room penalties have nothing to do with doors, it's walls that matter.

As a general rule each room will only trigger an adjacent room's bonus/penalty once.


We might need a fresh ruling if an expansion with U-shaped rooms is introduced.


Why exactly? You still only trigger scoring once for each room the placed room is adjacent to. How does having a U-shaped room change that?


The thinking is that one room could touch an activity room at two non-contiguous points. But really I was just trying to inject some humor; I didn't intend this to be a serious comment. Probably should have emoticonned for clarity.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.