Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Fireteam Zero» Forums » Rules

Subject: Spawn Die Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Redd
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Literally my first game setup working step by step through the rulebook. Time to spawn the baddies and I roll the spawn die and get three 8's (and a "2"). And of course the spawn "8" token is directly adjacent to my starting space. Not a great start...



Question is: During setup do you re-roll if you get a space with another spawn already on it or just keep adding? I've searched both the rulebook and forums and cannot find yay or nay for it (but would not be the first time I miss something right under my nose).

Granted, this was probably a very rare start (especially for a first game) so maybe it will just be a quick merciful death...devil
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Unapologetic Continual Troublemaker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ReddWolf wrote:
Literally my first game setup working step by step through the rulebook. Time to spawn the baddies and I roll the spawn die and get three 8's (and a "2"). And of course the spawn "8" token is directly adjacent to my starting space. Not a great start...



Question is: During setup do you re-roll if you get a space with another spawn already on it or just keep adding? I've searched both the rulebook and forums and cannot find yay or nay for it (but would not be the first time I miss something right under my nose).

Granted, this was probably a very rare start (especially for a first game) so maybe it will just be a quick merciful death...devil


The only limit on spawning is that they cannot spawn when you are on the spawning point.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Redd
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
reverendunclebastard wrote:
ReddWolf wrote:
Literally my first game setup working step by step through the rulebook. Time to spawn the baddies and I roll the spawn die and get three 8's (and a "2"). And of course the spawn "8" token is directly adjacent to my starting space. Not a great start...

Question is: During setup do you re-roll if you get a space with another spawn already on it or just keep adding? I've searched both the rulebook and forums and cannot find yay or nay for it (but would not be the first time I miss something right under my nose).

Granted, this was probably a very rare start (especially for a first game) so maybe it will just be a quick merciful death...devil


The only limit on spawning is that they cannot spawn when you are on the spawning point.


That's what I was afraid of...at first. Actually, having all of them right there in range to take shots at two of them. I also had a well-chosen focus card allowing me to attack an extra time when the other one entered my location which worked out very well and I was able to take out 2/3 of them. Would have possibly been 3/3 but ended up with a bad roll (and worse specialist ability re-roll) so two of them advanced on my location vice just one (where I used the focus ability). Rat ended up taking 3 damage, but still able to keep the tactical card. Now they are spawned back in more "manageable" locations.

Ended up being a great first play start to show me how enjoyable it could be. Will post more later on SGOYT....
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
It is a solo game and unless someone is looking over you shoulder to learn how to play, you can always re-roll that first spawning roll to give you a better chance at learning the movement rules.whistle

Yes, I did that. Three times in my first game. I did eventually lose that one but went on to greater things once I go the rule interactions down. Fun game but it can be HARD when the dice favor the bad guys.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.