Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules questions after a couple of games rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marcin Drzewiecki
Poland
flag msg tools
mb
I think I know almost every rule in this game, but still... some questions remain:

1. If the monster is in the same room but does not have a line of sight to our group (because for example those curved board tiles that look like \_/, will it still move?
2. Similar situation, but for example, I have opened the door with enemies and then went back to the cleared room so the monsters don't have the line of sight to us. Will they move?
3. Imagine a situation when for example monsters have move 2 and one of them is blocking the 'safe' path to us (went first and stopped in such a spot that other monsters have to step on the trap in order to move forward, also other monsters cannot move through the one that is blocking because they don't have that many movement points). So should the monsters step on the trap, or should they wait for another turn so the path will be cleared?
4. When we have attack modifier deck and we draw a card with for example leaf or ice symbol (and rolling symbol of course) so does it mean that we are infusing the room, or just that we can use this symbol during this certain attack that we are performing without infusing the room?

Sorry if those questions have been asked before, but I've tried to search and couldn't find answers to those ones.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Greig
Australia
Kelso
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
1. If the monster is in the same room but does not have a line of sight to our group (because for example those curved board tiles that look like \_/, will it still move?


yes
Quote:
2. Similar situation, but for example, I have opened the door with enemies and then went back to the cleared room so the monsters don't have the line of sight to us. Will they move?


Yes

Quote:
3. Imagine a situation when for example monsters have move 2 and one of them is blocking the 'safe' path to us (went first and stopped in such a spot that other monsters have to step on the trap in order to move forward, also other monsters cannot move through the one that is blocking because they don't have that many movement points). So should the monsters step on the trap, or should they wait for another turn so the path will be cleared?

Yes but only if the trapped space is the destination, else they will wait, there is another large thread on this but Isaac has answered it

Quote:
4. When we have attack modifier deck and we draw a card with for example leaf or ice symbol (and rolling symbol of course) so does it mean that we are infusing the room, or just that we can use this symbol during this certain attack that we are performing without infusing the room?

you are infusing the room, (much the same as if you had the symbol on your action card)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GAF Blizzard
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
1. I would say yes since the FAQ states about focus, "Next, find the minimum distance it needs to move to get within range (and line-of-sight) to attack an enemy." As long as the monster can find a path to EVENTUALLY reach a valid, empty square to attack from, it will execute Move actions when its ability cards allow it.

2. Same situation as #1, so yes.

3. A diagram would help. The general rule is that for whatever monster is taking its turn currently, it will only find focus across traps if there is no alternative (even if the alternative is 10 hexes). If there is an empty hex where the monster could attack you if it moved through the trap(s) and had infinite movement, it will move along that path.

4. Modifier cards add things to your attack. If you have the leaf on a rolling modifier card, it will be as though your attack action had the leaf on it. This means you would move the element to strong AT THE END of your turn, once you do everything else. See the example on page 11 of the rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
d w
Sweden
flag msg tools
Regarding #4, just to make sure, you are playing with the basic attack modifier decks (number 1 - 4) and not the attack modifiers in the character envelopes? It sort of sounds like you're playing with the wrong deck, or you have been very quick to add rolling cards to your attack modifier deck
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Boehm
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Yes
2. Yes
4. Infusing the room (at the end of your turn).


3. I assume you mean like in a hallway:
1/2= monster T= trap C= character X= wall/obstacle


X X X X X X
X . . . . T C
X . . 1 . 2 .
X . . . T .



In this case, 1 (assuming 2 move) would move one hex to the right, attempting to get to the open spot to the right of 2, it would not step on the trap.

Or:

X X X X X X
X . . . T . .
X . 1 . 2 . C
X . . T . .


This situation is functionally the same. There is an open hex (well multiple hexes)to attack from so it will move one to the right and avoid stepping on the trap.

Lastly:
In this case the 2 Xs on the bottom right could be obstacles/walls/monsters/character(with later initiatives)

X X X X X X
X . . . . T C
X . . 1 . 2 X
X . . . T X


This is the case where monster 1 (again with 2 assumed movement) WOULD move onto the trap NW of monster 2, because that is the only viable hex from which to attack that the monster is aware of. This is assuming to the right of C is either a wall, another monster/obstacle/character, or the edge of the map (which is essentially a wall).

Basically, monsters only go on traps if they are the only path they could ever (based on the monster's inability to consider future turns) take to a hex from which they can attack.



4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcin Drzewiecki
Poland
flag msg tools
mb
Thanks a lot!
It's clear now
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.