Firefly: The Game» Forums » Variants

Subject: my first custom leaders rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg F
Germany
flag msg tools
Hi guys,

I'm quite new to the firefly game, but I love it. So I found your work here, which is great, and made for me and my friends my first own cards.

What do you guys think?

Since I'm not experienced with Photoshop, I used PowerPoint to make these cards. If you guys like them and have more ideas, I would create a full set of round about 20-30 cards around these leaders.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Krubski
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hi, Greg. A nice start!

A few thoughts:

First, if you're willing to spend about 10 bucks a month for access, you can get Photoshop, and then get access to our resource folder, which is mostly templates. You've done very nicely with the resources available, but the PS templates are prettier.

Second, even if you stick with PowerPoint, I would recommend trying to mirror the fonts and font sizes of the existing cards as much as possible. They serve not only a stylistic function, but also a mechanical one, limiting how much text is too complicated for a card.

Finally, let me get down to leader balance. Since these cards are for you and your friends, you may not be overly concerned about how they balance against existing leaders, so I hope you'll bear with me.

There are currently 13 official leaders (7 from the core game, 2 each from BLUE SUN and PIRATES & BOUNTY HUNTERS, 1 each from the Jetwash and BLUE SUN). Most fall into a pretty tight structure:

1) 3 skill points

2) 1 keyword OR 2 keywords + Moral. The exceptions to this are Nandi, Zoe, and Atherton, but that's generally balanced by their unique abilities.

3) A unique ability that is typically tied to making or saving money. Ultimately, this will likely net you 1000-2000 over the course of the game.

So, let's look at your folks!