Roy Subs
Scotland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Guide ability for all of these characters is to separate from Fellowship for 1 corruption damage. Additionally, Hobbits have the Take Them Alive! ability meaning that if they are taken as random casualties, then they also separate instead. Important distinction, that (LoMe) Gimli/Legolas/Boromir taken as a random companion do *not* separate, and instead are eliminated from the game.

ok, came up in a game recently. Fellowship is in Rivendell and reveals at step 5, choosing to go through Moria:

1st Tile (from the Hunt): 1 + reveal, so here if any of these companions are taken as a casualty (as Guide, or for Hobbits, as random casualty also), then they can separate to 5 steaps + their level from Rivendell, with the caveat that if they choose to move through Moria, they must stop there and lose all further movement.

2nd Tile (from the Balrog): If one of the above characters is the casualty, are they just placed in Moria with the Balrog, or can they move their character level from Moria? Also, for an Eye draw, presumably if LoMe Legolas was Guide, he would survive while the Balrog would die (super-tough Legolas kills the Balrog and survives to tell the tale!)?

3rd Tile (from the Stronghold): again, would the companion separate from Rivendell, or from Moria?

Also, the declare scenario:

If the Fellowship was *not* revealed but instead declared through Moria with the LoMe Balrog in play, what happens here if say 1 corruption damage hits and one of these companions is Guide and is taken as casualty, do they move their character level from Moria, or do they move the full Fellowship steps + level from Rivendell, or are they just placed in Moria with no movement from there possible?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Some dude
Netherlands
Groningen
There dismay took them, for at the gate was a guard of whom no tidings had yet gone forth.
flag msg tools
Swiftly the wolf grew, until he could creep into no den, but lay huge and hungry before the feet of Morgoth. There the fire and anguish of hell entered into him, and he became filled with a devouring spirit, tormented, terrible, and strong.
badge
Then swiftly all his inwards were filled with a flame of anguish, and the Silmaril seared his accursed flesh. Howling he led before them, and the walls of the valley of the Gate echoes with the clamour of his torment.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
roysubs wrote:
so here if any of these companions are taken as a casualty, [...] then they can separate.


You're saying this wrong. Taking a Companion as a casualty and using their Guide ability are 2 different things. Using the Guide ability doesn't count as taking a casualty.
For example, using their Guide ability won't trigger "Worn with Sorrow and Toil".

If multiple Hunt tiles are drawn, you completely handle the current tile before drawing the next, including moving the Fellowship:

roysubs wrote:
1st Tile (from the Hunt): 1 + reveal, so here if any of these companions are taken as a casualty (as Guide, or for Hobbits, as random casualty also), then they can separate to 5 steaps + their level from Rivendell, with the caveat that if they choose to move through Moria, they must stop there and lose all further movement.

You can use their Guide ability (instead of taking them as a casualty). They are then separated from Rivendell 5 spaces + their level(1). But they would have to stop in Moria.
Then, because the Fellowship is revealed, you have to move them.
The track is at 5, so you can move them to let's say Parth Celebrant. (You can't move to Lorien because you are revealed)

roysubs wrote:
2nd Tile (from the Balrog): If one of the above characters is the casualty, are they just placed in Moria with the Balrog, or can they move their character level from Moria? Also, for an Eye draw, presumably if LoMe Legolas was Guide, he would survive while the Balrog would die (super-tough Legolas kills the Balrog and survives to tell the tale!)?

The Fellowship is in Parth Celebrant, so they separate from there (only their level, because the track is at 0)
Legolas is eliminated. His Guide ability reduces Hunt Damage. But the Eye tile from the Balrog doesn't cause Hunt Damage, it simply says eliminate.

roysubs wrote:
3rd Tile (from the Stronghold): again, would the companion separate from Rivendell, or from Moria?

Also, the declare scenario:

If the Fellowship was *not* revealed but instead declared through Moria with the LoMe Balrog in play, what happens here if say 1 corruption damage hits and one of these companions is Guide and is taken as casualty, do they move their character level from Moria, or do they move the full Fellowship steps + level from Rivendell, or are they just placed in Moria with no movement from there possible?

In both these situations, they are in Parth Celebrant, so they separate from Parth Celebrant. (or wherever you moved the Fellowship)

If a Companion separates while the Fellowship is in a Shadow stronghold, the Companion's movement starts there and they can move out. They are not stuck there.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc M
Canada
Ottawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe the key point is that each hunt tile is fully processed before tackling the next, thus by your 2nd tile draw the FSP is already located past Moria by 2 steps due to that Reveal, and the next tile-draw separated companions start from that region.

To your last Q, Declaration happens (I believe) before Hunt Resolution, thus the companions would separate from wherever the FSP is Declared to be. This is a tricky one as Declaration does not normally trigger Hunt tiles.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roy Subs
Scotland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Anfauglir wrote:
You're saying this wrong. Taking a Companion as a casualty and using their Guide ability are 2 different things. Using the Guide ability doesn't count as taking a casualty. For example, using their Guide ability won't trigger "Worn with Sorrow and Toil".

That's fair up to a point (Worn with Sorrow and Toil) is relevant, but I stated above that Gimli/Legolas/Boromir can only do this as a Guide ability and cannot do this if they are selected as the result of a random Companion pull.

I do agree with the idea that each tile pull should be fully resolved, that makes sense, but also does create an issue that the Balrog tile could be resolved in Osgiliath for example, although the Balrog is located in Moria.

Anfauglir wrote:
You can use their Guide ability (instead of taking them as a casualty). They are then separated from Rivendell 5 spaces + their level(1). But they would have to stop in Moria"

I said above "with the caveat that if they choose to move through Moria, they must stop there and lose all further movement."

Anfauglir wrote:
If multiple Hunt tiles are drawn, you completely handle the current tile before drawing the next, including moving the Fellowship

Fair enough, I do agree with that, but it created quite a confusion with my playing partner as he said "this makes absolutely no sense, the Balrog is in Moria and we are drawing a tile for the Balrog, so shouldn't the Companion separate from there?" which is a fair point thematically. If the Fellowship moved 8 steps before this happened, Legolas would jump out of the Fellowship at Osgiliath after facing the Balrog in Moria ... to which someone might be forgiven for saying "HUH!?!?".

Anfauglir wrote:
Legolas is eliminated. His Guide ability reduces Hunt Damage. But the Eye tile from the Balrog doesn't cause Hunt Damage, it simply says eliminate.

ok, that's a good point, and would apply if a "Hobbit Companion" (base game variant) was Guide, as the Balrog Eye situation would bypass the Guide ability there also. Good point.

Anfauglir wrote:
In both these situations, they are in Parth Celebrant, so they separate from Parth Celebrant. (or wherever you moved the Fellowship)

It's a fair point, but as before pretty weird if the Companion is hit by the Balrog in Moria but only leaves the party in Osgiliath say.

Declaration *definitely* triggers a Hunt tile with the LoMe Balrog (see card), and it is a tricky one yeah, but all of this came up in a face to face game yesterday. Fair point on the each tile must be fully resolved one by one, but it is hard to explain that thematically: "the Balrog fought with Legolas in Moria, so Legolas left the party in Osgiliath ... huh!?"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Some dude
Netherlands
Groningen
There dismay took them, for at the gate was a guard of whom no tidings had yet gone forth.
flag msg tools
Swiftly the wolf grew, until he could creep into no den, but lay huge and hungry before the feet of Morgoth. There the fire and anguish of hell entered into him, and he became filled with a devouring spirit, tormented, terrible, and strong.
badge
Then swiftly all his inwards were filled with a flame of anguish, and the Silmaril seared his accursed flesh. Howling he led before them, and the walls of the valley of the Gate echoes with the clamour of his torment.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
roysubs wrote:
Anfauglir wrote:
You're saying this wrong. Taking a Companion as a casualty and using their Guide ability are 2 different things. Using the Guide ability doesn't count as taking a casualty. For example, using their Guide ability won't trigger "Worn with Sorrow and Toil".

That's fair up to a point (Worn with Sorrow and Toil) is relevant, but I stated above that Gimli/Legolas/Boromir can only do this as a Guide ability and cannot do this if they are selected as the result of a random Companion pull.

The only reason I brought this up is because there was another question about this recently where there was confusion.
The Guide abilities can be chained together to reduce more points of Hunt damage. But only one Companion can be taken as a casualty.

I agree it looks weird thematically. You can draw a tile for the Balrog while in a totally different region. But I didn't make the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc M
Canada
Ottawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
roysubs wrote:
Fair point on the each tile must be fully resolved one by one, but it is hard to explain that thematically: "the Balrog fought with Legolas in Moria, so Legolas left the party in Osgiliath ... huh!?"


The idea is that it all happened in the past, but the truth is only being shown now and you can make up a narrative to fit that.

So if Legolas died as guide (LoME Balrog, Eye tile drawn) then he did indeed die 'in the past', in Moria, even if the FSP is Declared in (for ex.) Osgiliath.

If instead Legolas was separated as guide to reduce damage by 1 on a (non-Eye) balrog-drawn-tile, you could imagine he was grievously wounded in Moria by a poisoned orc-dart, but made it all the way to Osgiliath on a stretcher as Strider worked his healing on the elf. Now hale, Legolas separates to pursue his own mission. Having heard rumor of Ents, he treks to Fangorn seeing if an ally can be found in the final struggle against the Dark Lord. (etc.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roy Subs
Scotland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Poor Legolamb
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.