Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
26 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » General

Subject: Next wave of X-Wing, 3 ships this time. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/news/2017/3/15/indepen...









Correct me if I'm wrong, but it looks like that Scum bomber has a Rebel pilot card?

-shnar
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Now this is interesting:



Permanent missiles (i.e. no "discard")

-shnar
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Lozito
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shnar wrote:
Correct me if I'm wrong, but it looks like that Scum bomber has a Rebel pilot card?

-shnar


Yep. It comes with two versions of the same pilot (Captain Nym), who can be used with Rebels or Scum. So you get a pilot card and ship token for Nym for each of the two factions.

Definitely a nice touch from FFG.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Van Biesbrouck
Canada
St Catharines
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Synced Turret + Deadeye seems like a good combo.

The infinite Unguided Rockets is basically just a wonky primary weapon upgrade that is strong against Range 3 shots. Put Unguided Rockets on a Bomber/Aggressor and spending your focus in defence will be a hard decision.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Steski
United States
Olympia
WA
flag msg tools
Thou art I... Thou hast acquired a new vow.
badge
With the birth of the BOARD GAMES Persona, you have obtained the winds of blessing that shall lead to freedom and new power.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Finally, we get the Scurrg! I'm excited to see what kind of bomb shenanigans we get with it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Dickson
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Empire finally gets its TLT carrier. 3 Aggressors plus Captain Jonus are going to be a thing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JH
United States
Albany
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shnar wrote:
Permanent missiles (i.e. no "discard")

-shnar

Aha! I was trying to figure out why this was any good. Now I get it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Dickson
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sarcasmorator wrote:
shnar wrote:
Permanent missiles (i.e. no "discard")

-shnar

Aha! I was trying to figure out why this was any good. Now I get it.


You also don't need to spend the focus token required to use it either, just have it. So it's free to modify the attack.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Boeren
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, looks like a reasonable upgrade for ordnance ships that have the two slots.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Whitesell
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's basically a worse Range 1 shot at all ranges. Right now I don't think it's worth the 2 missile slots (not that they were really being used in most builds anyhow)

I think it should have had 4 dice, same restrictions, taken up 1 slot, and cost 1 or 2 more.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tala Mare
msg tools
mb
GrantZilla1979 wrote:
It's basically a worse Range 1 shot at all ranges. Right now I don't think it's worth the 2 missile slots (not that they were really being used in most builds anyhow)

I think it should have had 4 dice, same restrictions, taken up 1 slot, and cost 1 or 2 more.

Worse Range 1 Shot for who?

The only ships that can equip it are the Bomber, Punisher, and Aggressor.

All 3 Ships have 2 Attack default...

This upgrade basically gives them the option of equipping a 2 Point Mangler Cannon. Trust me, this card will see play.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JH
United States
Albany
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GrantZilla1979 wrote:
It's basically a worse Range 1 shot at all ranges. Right now I don't think it's worth the 2 missile slots (not that they were really being used in most builds anyhow)


It's also very cheap, though, and cards on other ships (like Palpatine or M9-G8, if the Rebels end up getting a 2-missile ship down the line) can still modify the results.

Two missile slots prevents mass Z-95 swarming with it. Five or six Zs with your 4-dice version would be, uh, yeah. No way.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Steski
United States
Olympia
WA
flag msg tools
Thou art I... Thou hast acquired a new vow.
badge
With the birth of the BOARD GAMES Persona, you have obtained the winds of blessing that shall lead to freedom and new power.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sarcasmorator wrote:
GrantZilla1979 wrote:
It's basically a worse Range 1 shot at all ranges. Right now I don't think it's worth the 2 missile slots (not that they were really being used in most builds anyhow)


It's also very cheap, though, and cards on other ships (like Palpatine or M9-G8, if the Rebels end up getting a 2-missile ship down the line) can still modify the results.

Two missile slots prevents mass Z-95 swarming with it. Five or six Zs with your 4-dice version would be, uh, yeah. No way.


I don't think Palp or M9-G8 can modify Unguided Rocket results. It specifically says "your attack dice can be modified only by a focus token" not "you can only modify your attack dice with a focus token."

This also shuts down any defender modifications like Sensor Jammer.
4 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JH
United States
Albany
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Palpatine works for modifying defense dice of target locked ships being shot at by Omega Leader ("cannot modify any dice") when he's on a different ship, so I'd think it should work for this. M9-G8 should work by the same token. But yeah, maybe the Focus token requirement negates that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Steski
United States
Olympia
WA
flag msg tools
Thou art I... Thou hast acquired a new vow.
badge
With the birth of the BOARD GAMES Persona, you have obtained the winds of blessing that shall lead to freedom and new power.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Omega Leader says "Enemy ships that you have locked cannot modify any dice," which is why Palp works. (And why if you lock a Palpmobile, it can't modify your dice, even if you're attacking someone else)

Unguided Rockets just has a blanket statement.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JH
United States
Albany
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fair enough.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Merkle
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shnar wrote:
Now this is interesting:



Permanent missiles (i.e. no "discard")

-shnar


Is it just me or is the justification of that text box off?

*** edit: I guess it's not so bad, just the "Your attack dice..." line is moved over due to the range info.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff
United States
Marion
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sassycat wrote:
Finally, we get the Scurrg! I'm excited to see what kind of bomb shenanigans we get with it.


Still no gunboat yet.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
thespaceinvader -
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Sassycat wrote:
Omega Leader says "Enemy ships that you have locked cannot modify any dice," which is why Palp works. (And why if you lock a Palpmobile, it can't modify your dice, even if you're attacking someone else)

Unguided Rockets just has a blanket statement.

This is incorrect. If OL locks a palpmobile it can mod his dice just fine, *unless he's shooting at it or it's shooting at him*.

Your assertion of what the card says, isn't actually what the card says
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Swampy Crocker
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thespaceinvader wrote:
Sassycat wrote:
Omega Leader says "Enemy ships that you have locked cannot modify any dice," which is why Palp works. (And why if you lock a Palpmobile, it can't modify your dice, even if you're attacking someone else)

Unguided Rockets just has a blanket statement.

This is incorrect. If OL locks a palpmobile it can mod his dice just fine, *unless he's shooting at it or it's shooting at him*.

Your assertion of what the card says, isn't actually what the card says


Fairly certain the FAQ mentions that OL needs to TL Palpatine to precent him from modifying his buddies' dice.
The poster may have phrased it wrong, but the intention holds.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cowlishaw
msg tools
Indeed. The ship carrying Palpatine or M9-G8 needs to be locked, rather than the attacker/target.

The ships look good. The Wookie gunship having a 180' forward arc is nasty - the ability to pack four, with wookie commandoes aboard, in a squad looks unpleasant - a 9-hit ship with reinforce is going to be a copper-bottomed bugger to bring down, and with a wide aux arc, it shouldn't be hard to concentrate several attackers on an arc dodger.

Unguided rockets are nice for those ships who can carry them.

Scimitar Squadron Pilot - Unguided Rockets, Lightweight Frame x 5

gives you a sort of 20-point x-wing analogue. It has problems - critically its firepower collapses if denied focus tokens - but 5 ships with 6 hull each and 3 green dice is damn tough.

Alternatively, four cutlass with the same upgrades and collision detectors. I suspect the bombers are still a better idea; when dealing with multiple 3-dice focus only attacks, the extra shot matters, and barrel roll is a better tool for turning one into a blocker than boost.




Scurrgs make for rather tasty heavy fighters, too. 4 of them can take intel agents and you've got a decent blocker with barrel roll, and in a head-on pass, you've got something with the raw statline of the lambda shuttle but a talon roll (the lambda's key weakness is a 180 turn move).


They can make for a very tasty ship if you can spend a few points on upgrades. 3 Karthakk Pirates with Synched Turrets and Gunners is nasty, too; you can target lock, and get 3-dice attacks out of arc if needed, but inside your arc of fire, you get a three dice attack with rerolls off the turret, and if you miss, a three-dice primary attack with the target lock still free to be spent.



And yes, whilst you can do all sorts of things with the aggressor, you've got 4 Seinar Specialists with Lightweight Frame and twin laser turret. Or three with Jonus.


Oh - and, technically, you can do dirty, dirty things with the three aces (don't worry, I'm damn sure it'll be FAQ-ed before release) because if you want to be a rules-as-written [insert swearword here] the TIE aggressor meets the name requirements to carry the IG-2000 title.....


3 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
thespaceinvader -
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
SwampMonster wrote:
thespaceinvader wrote:
Sassycat wrote:
Omega Leader says "Enemy ships that you have locked cannot modify any dice," which is why Palp works. (And why if you lock a Palpmobile, it can't modify your dice, even if you're attacking someone else)

Unguided Rockets just has a blanket statement.

This is incorrect. If OL locks a palpmobile it can mod his dice just fine, *unless he's shooting at it or it's shooting at him*.

Your assertion of what the card says, isn't actually what the card says


Fairly certain the FAQ mentions that OL needs to TL Palpatine to precent him from modifying his buddies' dice.
The poster may have phrased it wrong, but the intention holds.

Nope.

The possible situations:

OL vs RAC with Palp, and Rexler:

OL locks Rexler, attacks or is attacked by RAC. Palp works fine, OL isn't locked onto the ship concerned, so his ability doesn't fire.

OL locks Rexler, attacks or is attacked by Rexler. Rexler can't modify dice, but Palp can, since Palp isn't on the ship locked by and attacking/being attacked by OL. OL doesn't block it, because he only blocks mods by the ship he has locked and only if he's attacking/being attacked by that ship.

OL locks RAC, attacks or is attacked by Rexler. Palp works, because OL isn't attacking or being attacked by the ship he has locked, so his ability doesn't fire. Rexler can also mod dice.

OL locks RAC, attacks or is attacked by RAC. RAC can't mod dice at all, Palp is blocked in this instance and only this instance.

In short, OL needs to be attackiung/being attacked by the ship he has locked, AND the mod needs to be done by the ship he has locked, for it to be blocked by him. So Palp and M9G8 are more often than not going to get around his ability.

I played Omega Leader solidly for like 8 months, he's the ship whose rules interactions I know best in the entire game.

But this is mildly off topic so I'll stop.

E: to be ON topic: I don't think palp or M9G8 will work on Unguided Rockets, but I wish they'd phrased it to be in line with the general rule that 'cannot' is the only thing in the game that can;'t be overridden by card rules. 'Your dice cannot be modified except by you spending a focus token for its default effect' for instance. Then it would have been unambiguous.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Martin
United Kingdom
Lincoln
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is it just me, or does the Scurrg bomber look a bit like a Cobra Mk III?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rogue Knight
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pincher wrote:
Is it just me, or does the Scurrg bomber look a bit like a Cobra Mk III?


The Cobra Mk III looks like the Scurrg. The Scurrg was designed years ago, before Elite Dangerous came out :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Kr├╝ger
Germany
Krefeld
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RogueKnight wrote:
pincher wrote:
Is it just me, or does the Scurrg bomber look a bit like a Cobra Mk III?


The Cobra Mk III looks like the Scurrg. The Scurrg was designed years ago, before Elite Dangerous came out :-)


Elite was released 1985, Star Wars: Starfighter which seems to have been the first appearance of the Scurrg, was released 2001. However, almost any spaceship would look like something from Elite, considering the simplified graphics of back then.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.