Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Tak» Forums » Rules

Subject: moving a stack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Mrochuk
msg tools
Just wanted to clarify.

When it says that stacks can be moved in a straight line, it doesn't mean you can turn perpendicular to a path you've started on does it?
The example in the book shows no turning, but it's been argued that straight line simply means not moving diagonally.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manuel Correia
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You pick an orthogonal direction and go, without changing directions.

Of course you could do this over the course of several turns, but with one direction at a time.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Molnar
United States
Ridgewood
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Reed
United States
Galloway
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ahhh. Darn it, now I know I'm old. Who the hell is that and why is that a good joke? <Sigh>
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
wmreed wrote:
Ahhh. Darn it, now I know I'm old. Who the hell is that and why is that a good joke? <Sigh>

Just because we don't recognize them doesn't mean it's a good joke.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Reed
United States
Galloway
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
russ wrote:
wmreed wrote:
Ahhh. Darn it, now I know I'm old. Who the hell is that and why is that a good joke? <Sigh>

Just because we don't recognize them doesn't mean it's a good joke.
4 people thumbed it already, so it's probably funny. Oh, wait...

One Direction! Isn't there a boy band called One Direction? I'll bet that's who it is.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
wmreed wrote:
One Direction! Isn't there a boy band called One Direction? I'll bet that's who it is.

Web searching seems to confirm your hypothesis. Too bad, I was hoping it was a band called Tak!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pauly Paul
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gr9yfox wrote:
You pick an orthogonal direction and go, without changing directions.

Of course you could do this over the course of several turns, but with one direction at a time.


Yep it's One Direction and in response to this reply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philipp Eis
Germany
flag msg tools
PM me your type of "Soul Food"!
badge
mhhh...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Reviving an old thread, sorry for that.

I've got a question regarding the prerequisites of moving a stack, if there are any.

In the pdf rulebook it says:
Insurmountable Pieces: Standing stones and capstones cannot be covered, which means that all the spaces in your path must either be empty or contain flat stones."

For example: I want to move 4 pieces (carry limit is 5) in a straight line and the third piece is a standing stone or capstone. Am I allowed to move until this stone (dropping two stones on each flat stone/empty space) or does it say that I'm not allowed to move at all?

I guess I'm allowed to move until the piece, because it doesn't say the opposite. But I'm curious nevertheless. Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zen
Japan
Kyoto
flag msg tools
youtube.com/neatozen
badge
follow me on twitter: @zenxacred
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
you can move until.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
rePhil wrote:
For example: I want to move 4 pieces (carry limit is 5) in a straight line and the third piece is a standing stone or capstone. Am I allowed to move until this stone (dropping two stones on each flat stone/empty space) ...

I guess I'm allowed to move until the piece,

Right, you can move as long as you don't move onto a standing stone or capstone. The mere presence of a standing stone or capstone farther away, which you don't move onto, doesn't prevent you moving in that direction.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philipp Eis
Germany
flag msg tools
PM me your type of "Soul Food"!
badge
mhhh...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Got it. Thanks a lot
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.