Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Mage Wars Arena» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hydrothermal vent rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
magnon jean
France
flag msg tools
Hi,

A creature enters a zone where I reveal a Hydrothermal Vent.
This Hydrothermal Vent stuns the creature.
What happens next?
- can the creature make an attack? (and the stun condition will be taken into account at the next round)
- when do we remove the stun condition for this creature?

little lost here...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Teroux
United Kingdom
Belfast
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So, when a creature is Stunned, it is Incapacitated. An Incapacitated creature basically can't take any actions during its turn, including moving, attacking, guarding or casting spells. It can't make a counter-strike and can't guard, either.

The Stun condition will be removed at the end of the creature's action phase, or it can be removed before that if you have something in play that would allow you to pay the removal cost.

Hope this clarifies things for you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
magnon jean
France
flag msg tools
So, is the following the correct sequence?

1. I activate a creature
2. The creature moves into a zone where a Hydrothermal Vent is revealed
3. The Hydrothermal Vent stuns the creature, it gets a stun marker
4. The creature can't do anything more as it is stunned
5. End of the creature's action phase, the stun marker is removed
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Teroux
United Kingdom
Belfast
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivan Kidd
United States
Thomasville
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jcmag wrote:
So, is the following the correct sequence?

1. I activate a creature
2. The creature moves into a zone where a Hydrothermal Vent is revealed
3. The Hydrothermal Vent stuns the creature, it gets a stun marker
4. The creature can't do anything more as it is stunned
5. End of the creature's action phase, the stun marker is removed


Incorrect. If a condition is applied during a creature's action phase that would normally be removed at the end of it's action phase, then it gets removed at the end of its NEXT action phase to guarantee that it has an effect. Otherwise, you might be moving into the hydrothermal vent with a double move or with a slow creature and the Stun would've been meaningless.

So, the correct order is:
1. I activate a creature
2. The creature moves into a zone causing a Hydrothermal Vent to be revealed
3. The Hydrothermal Vent stuns the creature, it gets a stun marker
4. The creature can't do anything more as it is stunned
5. The creature ends its action phase.
7. Next round, the creature activates, does nothing, and removes the Stun condition at the end of its Action Phase.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Teroux
United Kingdom
Belfast
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I stand corrected. Thanks for clarifying, Ivan.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Dunford
Canada
Kemptville
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's the best trap by far, and the Stun ruling isn't even the main reason why.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
It's the only trap without a restriction against casting it in a zone with enemy creatures!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
magnon jean
France
flag msg tools
ok, thanks everyone!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.