Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

1776» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shore Bombardment rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lincoln Graves
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
If a force is defending in a port beneath a fort or entrenchment, and has a friendly battle fleet in the port with it, can that battle fleet support those defending units as artillery? The way the rule is currently written, it appears that only the attacker can use a battle fleet to support such an attack.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Pratto
United States
Peabody
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No. Only attacking units may use Bombardment. However if the defending force has an eligible BF and counterattacks in the same combat, it may use Bombardment as the new attacker.

It makes sense though that the defender cannot bombard in a counterattack since the original attacker would never be entrenched or inside a fort.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.