United States
Tulsa
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
I'll play the Klingons
badge
I'll play the Klingons
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd like to pick up a new abstract game. I like the idea of one that has some 3D element but am open to others. I'm considering Tak and Santorini or even the old Torres. Your favorite newer abstracts? Why?

Thanks,
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
For a 3D element, SEVEN and Pent-Up are my current favorites. I also like Zaic a lot. And Shibumi is great with many different games using the same equipment (stacking balls on a 4x4 base).

I give some more info and reasons why I like them in this geeklist: Nestorgames explored by russ.

I've also played Tak (only a few times) and enjoyed it. I've not yet tried Santorini, alas.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nigel Ng
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to this hobby, but I recently bought YINSH (from GIPF series which got reprinted in 2016) and has fallen in love with it. I haven't tried the others in the series but I heard that most of them are good, like DVONN and TZAAR.

I've also bought Santorini. It's a quick game even playing best of three. It's an interesting game but I love the simplicity and elegance of YINSH more.

I have no idea on (abstract) games with 3D elements so I can't help with that.

russ wrote:
I give some more info and reasons why I like them in this geeklist: Nestorgames explored by russ.

I have no idea there's a geeklist for Nestorgames which I'm thinking of getting some. Thanks Russ!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
So it goes.
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
While somewhat themey, and not terribly new, both Taluva and Medina are great and had re-releases within the past year or two.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Silver Bowen
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Woo! Gonna get some
badge
44, that's me!
mbmbmbmbmb