Hopefully a quick and easy question that I'm missing the answer to. The example road event card on page 39 in the rule book shows that if option B is picked, the result is "Start scenario with 3 damage". Does that 3 damage get spread throughout the group (ex. if there are three characters, each takes one damage) or does each character take three damage? Thanks!
Each takes three.
FAQ under Campaign:
Which event rewards/penalties affect a single character and which affect all characters?
If a result starts with "Gain," "Lose," "Discard," or "Consume," the result is distributed among all characters however they choose if the word "collective" is included (i.e. "Lose 10 collective gold." means that the party loses 10 gold total). The result affects each character separately if the word "each" is included (i.e. "Lose 10 gold each." means that a party of 4 would lose 40 gold total). The exception to this is if the result is gaining an item. In that case, only one character gets the item (decided among the players).
If a result contains "Start scenario with..." it affects all players, unless it says "One starts scenario with..." in which case it only affects one player.
There are a few cards with typos where the "collective" or "each" is not included (see below). As a rule of thumb, if something is missing, assume it says "each."
TYPO - City Event 04: "Lose 1 check." should read "Lose 1 check each."
TYPO - City Event 06: "Gain 5 experience." should read "Gain 5 experience each."
TYPO - City Event 22: "Gain 1 check." should read "Gain 1 check each."
TYPO - City Event 46: "Lose 5 gold." should read "Lose 5 gold each."