Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

13 Minutes: The Cuban Missile Crisis» Forums » Rules

Subject: Placing cubes question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Drew
United States
Dallas
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When a card says "Place up to 2 influence cubes on up to two battlegrounds" does that mean you can place a total of 2 cubes on either 1 or 2 battlegrounds or does it mean you can place 1 or 2 cubes on 1 or 2 battlegrounds allowing you to put out a total of 4 cubes if you would like?

Sorry if that is a dumb question, but my Dad and I sat down and read the rules and we each interrupted the wording differently.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Holger Doessing
Denmark
Odense
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You may place no more than two cubes, but you may distribute them on the battlegrounds in any way you see fit.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew
United States
Dallas
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
holgerd wrote:
You may place no more than two cubes, but you may distribute them on the battlegrounds in any way you see fit.


Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ad Astra Per Aspera
United States
Wesley Chapel
Florida
flag msg tools
No matter where you go, there you are.
badge
Preserve Our Wildlife!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The wording on the cards is a bit ambiguous regarding those particular situations. But the card would be OP if it was the other way around.

Something better might be: "You may distribute two of your cubes on battlegrounds. You may place both cubes on the same battleground."

I'm sure there is a better way to say it than that too. The correct syntax for board games is a true talent. So many board game rules only make sense if you already know how to play the game. It's when you're brand new to the game and you're learning it from the rules (not being taught by someone who already knows how to play) that the perfect wording goes a long way.

Case in point, now that you know for a fact how the card works the text makes sense. But it was only until it was confirmed by someone who knew the answer.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ad Astra Per Aspera
United States
Wesley Chapel
Florida
flag msg tools
No matter where you go, there you are.
badge
Preserve Our Wildlife!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
holgerd wrote:
You may place no more than two cubes, but you may distribute them on the battlegrounds in any way you see fit.


Actually that wording right there is pretty darn clear too!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Belcher
Australia
New Norfollk
Tasmania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep thanks for clarifying this - I was definitely unsure and ended up guessing the wrong way. English is hard

Cheers.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben G
United States
Lawrence
Kansas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had the same question during our first plays. We played it the wrong way the first game, but then realized that it was too overpowered and played the correct way the second game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.