Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hopefully basic LoS question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Glambeck
msg tools
mbmb
Does a one dimensional wall block LoS for a ranged attack
Can this archer attack the hero or does it have to move to the door to hit the mind thief?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nigel Buckle
United Kingdom
Thornton Heath
Croydon
flag msg tools
designer
NSKN are publishing my next game :)
badge
Imperium - coming sometime
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LOS is pretty generous in this game, yes archer and mindthief have LOS to each other.

You take any corner of the attackers hex, can you trace a path avoiding walls (only thing that blocks LOS) to any corner of target? If you can you have LOS. Here that happens, so yes but not for Melee only ranged attacks, wall blocks the melee as they don't share a common edge (that isn't blocked)

Oh and it is range 2, so not disadvantaged
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Sundown
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
I recommend reading through this thread.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Florin
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A summary of the rules are:

- LOS = straight line between any corners of source and target hexes without touching a wall (even a corner) or closed door; nothing else blocks LOS

- Walls between adjacent hexes with a clear side hex (like an open door) stop at end of shared line. Hexes across the shared wall suffer +1 range


So for your example, the archer can hit the hero but at range 2. It also means that if the archer was a guard (non-AoE melee), he couldn't hit the hero. Melee AoE's are an exception as their red hexes are always considered in range (but not necessarily in LOS).


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
d w
Sweden
flag msg tools
You're missing a door token so technically there is no door there.

This also raises a question, if the game does not specify that a door (or another hex tile functioning like a door) should be placed between two map tiles, should it be treated as no walls as well, ie it's a continuing corridor?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kerstin
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
icelock wrote:
You're missing a door token so technically there is no door there.

This also raises a question, if the game does not specify that a door (or another hex tile functioning like a door) should be placed between two map tiles, should it be treated as no walls as well, ie it's a continuing corridor?


When you have a continuing corridor the game usually has you put down overlay tiles to connect the rooms properly.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam S
msg tools
Avatar
aflorin wrote:
A summary of the rules are:

- LOS = straight line between any corners of source and target hexes without touching a wall (even a corner) or closed door; nothing else blocks LOS

- Walls between adjacent hexes with a clear side hex (like an open door) stop at end of shared line. Hexes across the shared wall suffer +1 range


So for your example, the archer can hit the hero but at range 2. It also means that if the archer was a guard (non-AoE melee), he couldn't hit the hero. Melee AoE's are an exception as their red hexes are always considered in range (but not necessarily in LOS).


Thanks for that. So if the archer is on the door hex he is at disadvantage, but place a wall in-between him and the target and he is all good! Just when you think you think have rules down in this game...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
d w
Sweden
flag msg tools
ovis wrote:
icelock wrote:
You're missing a door token so technically there is no door there.

This also raises a question, if the game does not specify that a door (or another hex tile functioning like a door) should be placed between two map tiles, should it be treated as no walls as well, ie it's a continuing corridor?


When you have a continuing corridor the game usually has you put down overlay tiles to connect the rooms properly.


Thanks, no need to worry about that then.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kaine Knull
Canada
Camrose
Alberta
flag msg tools
Hurray for Geek Gold! Buy all the things!
badge
DIE DIE DIE ... DIE.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does this mean that if the bandit archer was one space back, it would be at range 3?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GAF Blizzard
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
soxshisou wrote:
Does this mean that if the bandit archer was one space back, it would be at range 3?

*edit* I'm not sure, asking in the FAQ thread about this now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GAF Blizzard
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
OK, Isaac posted in the FAQ thread and I think we have this resolved now.

Here is a very nice diagram created by aflorin:



The key insight is that you can't count "hex to hex" across walls when you are calculating loot distance or range, even though you have line of sight. You have to count "through" the door, which adds an extra hex.

In this example, if you are on the source hex S, target hex T is range 4 away because you count through the door.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.