Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: what to read out loud from the campaign book rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
dfg dfgdfg
msg tools
hi,

what parts of triggered events should be read out loud to the rebels?

for example if it says "at the end of eacht round" or "in round 2 and 4"
do they know, that the event will trigger again?

and what if the event involves several options like in "drawn in"

i think to remember, that usualy options not chosen are not beeing told, but what about the following:

you may choose one option and you may pay one threat to choose another one

do i have to tell, that i could use multilpe options if i pay?
do i just say that and that happend and i loose x threat?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Gienger
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RAW you have to tell them everything except the option(s) you don't choose. That includes trigger, that you have a choice etc.

That means you have to tell them stuff like At the end of each round the IP may choose one of the following:

Option you chose

---

If you have the option to pay threat to choose another option, that is something you only read when you use it, as it is an option you have to choose and don't read it if you don't choose it.

---

I actually don't like reading triggers and that the IP had a choice. Increases replayability if heroes don't know that something was a choice.


PS: Technically you have to read an event that happens every round even in rounds where you don't choose to do anything with it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dfg dfgdfg
msg tools
im not sure about the "each round" or at least the "Round 2 and 4" example

at least the last one might just be put together to not save space and could as well just be seen as two indepedant events with the same wording
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Gienger
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not saying that it's good or that I approve it that way, but the rules are clear. Read EVERYTHING except the options you didn't take.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
By RAW you read the full trigger condition. (It was clarified by the designers.) It matters only in a very few missions.

You only read the option taken - with Jabba's Realm this applies to both the choices made by the imperial player and the choices made by the rebel players. I have house-rules since the beginning that I only read the option taken and I don't indicate that there was a choice.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gustav W
Sweden
Lund
Sweden
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Campaign Book, Mission Events wrote:
Each event can contain any combination of story text and additional rules
that apply to the mission. When an event is triggered, all of the text and
rule information within that section is read aloud and resolved, in order.
Quote:
In some cases, an event will require the Imperial player to choose
one of a number of effects, which can be instant or ongoing. When
he chooses one, he reads the effect aloud and resolves it, but he
does not read or resolve any of the unchosen effects.


So you have to read all text within the section except the choices you do not pick.

That of course includes the event trigger.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dfg dfgdfg
msg tools
okay, thx
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas with Subtrendy
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
It's kind of important for the Rebels to know if something happens at the end of each round. If it only says something like "At the end of Round 4", then there's not a ton of info to glean from that, anyway- because regardless, they can realize that you're at the end of Round 4 and that has almost certainly triggered the condition.

So, on one hand, it can be necessary info that the Rebels should know.

On the other, it can be mostly benign, but might as well be read anyway.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.