Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Dinosaur Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: Couple rules questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brett Mowers
United States
Cazenovia
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Started a game on Tabletopia last night but we stopped due to some rules issues we hit and wanted clarification for a second go:

1) the game changers that give you a bonus - when do those take effect? Is t before the game starts and is it once per game or INC else round? For example, we had one that let you choose between building a fence, building a paddock, or increasing paddock capacity. When do we do that?

2) for the above game changer card - what are fences? Is it just raising your security level 1 spot? Can you build a paddock without a Dino? If so, for a free paddock does it have to be level 2 or can I build a free level 4?

3) one of the objectives said "have 3 resturants (yellow)". However the restaurants all seemed to be red and he merch tiles were yellow. Is this just a misprint?

Hoping to get a play or two in before backing and it all looks really cool! Thanks for any help!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew Johnson
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
1) they typically happen after the cleanup phase, before the next round begins.

2) That card has changed, you can ignore the fences. That card in particular you choose between a paddock size increase or security increase by 1. You can build a paddock and upgrade it many times even if you haven't built a dino there. The free paddock increase is one level at a time, so you go from level 1 to level 2, to level 3, to level 4.

3) Yep, that has been changed. All restaurants are red so that card will say red.

Also - when you score the victory point cards, they are all worth 10 points at the end of the game, not the value printed on them.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Mowers
United States
Cazenovia
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One more I just thought of:

How do the security upgrade work? Do you always pay for them based on the level? There was a lab upgrade that we bought that you could upgrade your security for 2 workers. Does this mean instead of paying the level you just move it up one for 2 workers or do you still pay the cost? Otherwise we didn't see the value of this tile.

When you pay for the security upgrade for a normal upgrade action it says $ = level. I'm guessing you can only increase security one step at a time? Then after you pay the cost for the level you are at?

Thanks for the quick reply!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Foz
United States
Akron
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If they happen at the end of the cleanup phase then do they happen each round? Or just once?

If it's one of the starting game changers, do you get it at the beginning of the game, or after the first cleanup phase?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Heath Washburn
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Riotactor10 wrote:
One more I just thought of:

How do the security upgrade work? Do you always pay for them based on the level? There was a lab upgrade that we bought that you could upgrade your security for 2 workers. Does this mean instead of paying the level you just move it up one for 2 workers or do you still pay the cost? Otherwise we didn't see the value of this tile.

When you pay for the security upgrade for a normal upgrade action it says $ = level. I'm guessing you can only increase security one step at a time? Then after you pay the cost for the level you are at?

Thanks for the quick reply!!

Your assumption is correct. Use the workers *instead* of spending the coin (for that particular lab upgrade). Also, yes, pay for one step at a time. (Except there is a special ability to go up two steps and only pay for one step.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew Johnson
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
fozware wrote:
If they happen at the end of the cleanup phase then do they happen each round? Or just once?

If it's one of the starting game changers, do you get it at the beginning of the game, or after the first cleanup phase?


Some cards will be different. There will be some that give the upgrade to you multiple times in the game, after the end of each cleanup phase. There's also a card that let's you choose at the very beginning of the game and it's a one time deal. The cards in the final version will be more clear about it
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Lewis
United States
Bath
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Drew and Heath answered your questions correctly. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.