Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Martians: A Story of Civilization» Forums » Rules

Subject: Why the extra event card in cycle 1? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Latshaw
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmb
Sorry if this had already been asked...

The set up says to create stacks of two event cards per cycle but the FAQ says there is no supplementation phase to start the game so shouldn't there be only one cycle 1 event card (to occur at the beginning of turn 3)?

Minor thing I know but want to know if it is something I missed.

Thanks
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Agoston Rozvanyi
Hungary
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
FAQ 21:
Q: When preparing the Event deck, the rules tell me to
2 cards for each cycle (which makes sense, since there
are 2 events per cycle) BUT why are there two events
for the first cycle? The rules say, that the events, energy
production and Weather card are skipped in the first roung
of the first cycle. Or is just the energy production step
and the Weather card skipped but we draw an Event card
before we start with our first worker-phase? Otherwise
would have to discard one of the two Event cards when
entering the second cycle. So how many events are there in
cycle 1 (how many cards do we need)?


A: We did not want to introduce any exceptions in the
rules, and some of the scenarios require an additional
Event card for each cycle’s stack. It is also about the
statistics - there should be a 33% chance to draw a
mission-related card when it is drawn for the first
time in any of the cycles (from the 2nd cycle on the
probability is greater when the second event is drawn
and the mission-related event has not been revealed
yet). Still there is only one event in the first cycle.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Taed Wynnell
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In a similar vein, I'm unsure whether the first weather card -- Stable Weather -- would be in effect during the first half of the first cycle or the second half of the first cycle.

I haven't played yet, but read the rules last night. While not the best, I did not find the rules to be the train wreck that I was expecting based on the videos that I watched.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Downie
United Kingdom
Wirral
Merseyside
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Stable Weather card is in effect for the first 2 rounds of cycle 1. Effectively nothing happening. Then before round 3 of cycle 1, you draw the first proper weather card. This trip to Mars was planned so you'd arrive under good conditions. After that, maybe not so much...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Taed Wynnell
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, that's what I thought. They could have made a "No event" or "Mission Started" sort of Event to resolve the same confusion over the events.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Herrera
United States
Highland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Arrrrggg... this was the question that wouldn't let me sleep at night, I should have read the FAQ! Thanks for answering this question
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.