Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Advisors with glory rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Graham Kays
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
When you carry forward an advisor with glory from one game to another, do you start the later game with the advisor glory?

The rules only specify that you get glory when you hire them. But if someone raids you and takes your advisor then the rules state that you lose the glory and the other player gains the glory, so you're losing a glory you never had in that game?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Willott
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
They are worth 1 glory, just like structures, colonies, upgrades, treasures. No matter how you got them, you get a glory (and lose it if you lose 'em).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrée Gundstedt
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmb
Is this rule in the rulebook or any other official place? I need it to convince my fellow players =)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
What Chris said (noting, though, that it only applies to specific advisors marked as being worth glory).

As to rules support, this is not stated directly, but:
Rules, p5 wrote:
Have each player place their glory marker on the glory track (17). Your glory total resets to zero each game, though in later games it is possible to start a game with a small amount of glory from items that will carry over from game to game.

Basically, this is saying that if your province starts the game with something worth glory, then you get credit for that. Certain advisors (if they have a glory value marked on them) fall into that category.

[Nitpicky aside]
Note that if this wasn't the case, then you'd have to keep track of which advisors are worth VP and which aren't since the rules for taking another player's advisor states that
Quote:
If the advisor provided glory, its owner loses that glory and,
if you placed it in your council room, you gain it.

So if you were to play that starting advisors do not provide glory, players that steal those advisors won't gain glory for them either.
[/Nitpicky aside]
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derrick Reisdorf
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Furthermore...

Certain advisors when activated may provide a glory bonus when completing an action. For example, an active advisor may reward a glory point if you sell 18 gold worth of goods on your turn.

BUT...
If another player successfully raids your province and plunders your council room of that advisor, do you lose that glory?

"If the advisor provided glory, its owner loses that glory and,
if you placed it in your council room, you gain it."

I would say "yes" (that the player loses glory), but there is nothing that really keeps track of that glory you gain from successfully completing special actions. And, is it really the advisor that provided the glory or the action itself?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Answered in the other thread you asked this. (The answer is no, you only lose any base glory for owning the advisor.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derrick Reisdorf
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. You sound certain of this, so we'll implement your definition.
It perhaps could have been worded better in the instructions, like, "If the advisor has a glory value, lose that value".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.