Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Combat Commander: Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Firing into a stacked hex - newbie rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Yum
United States
Altadena
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Total noob question, thanks in advance. When firing into a stacked hex, whether op fire or not, do you choose which unit to fire upon, or does each unit in that hex get a separate attack roll against them?

2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
piotr faldrowicz
Poland
warszawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
You are firing at all units on the targeted hex with single attack roll. Each defending unit has its own defense roll.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is described here in the Fire rules:
CC Fire rules wrote:
O20.3.4 Fire Defense Roll
A player has to make a Fire Defense Roll
– one at a time in any order desired – for each
of his units that were in a hex at the moment
that a Fire Attack Roll was made against it.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Huffman
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ryum wrote:
Total noob question, thanks in advance. When firing into a stacked hex, whether op fire or not, do you choose which unit to fire upon, or does each unit in that hex get a separate attack roll against them?



Couple things to note that you didn't ask about:
1) If you use Spray Fire Action, it is still only one roll even though there are two hexes. Basically, for ALL purposes the two hexes are considered just one hex. (For example, a Concealment would lower the Fire Attack roll by the best concealment for both hexes.)
2) You make rolls for every unit in the hex, even if there is no possibility of a suppression. The way that I got used to this was to remember that there is still a chance for them to roll Events and other triggers.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Olsen
Denmark
Ringsted
Danmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
huffman123 wrote:
1) If you use Spray Fire Action, it is still only one roll even though there are two hexes. Basically, for ALL purposes the two hexes are considered just one hex. (For example, a Concealment would lower the Fire Attack roll by the best concealment for both hexes.)


Actually that is not quite true. Concealment lower the Fire Attack roll by the Cover of either one of the targeted hexes (A29). That is, it does not necesarily has to be the best Cover.

(Yes, you would choose the best cover in pretty much any case, that is true).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Janik-Jones
Canada
Waterloo
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Combat Commander, Up Front, Fields of Fire, Cats were once worshipped as gods and they haven't forgotten this, The Raven King (game publisher) ... that's me!
badge
Slywester Janik, awarded the Krzyż Walecznych (Polish Cross of Valour), August 1944
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Summary ... one attack "roll" against the hex. Individual defence "rolls" for each unit in the next at the time of the attack. See Russ's rule quote.

This later point to note, for example, that the moving unit will break on a tied roll, versus units who were in the hex already just become suppressed on a tie.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.