Borna Bairn
United Kingdom
Falkirk
Scotland
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hi All,

We had our first game of this last night and a couple of things we were unsure of about event cards came up.

The first was Fast Horses, which just said "Reveal this card" so we decided this card was kept by the hunter and not discarded after use.

The second, I cant remember the name, but it was specifically for the Doctor said "Play as an action" and allowed the hunters to reveal any encounter card.
We at first played this as not discarded then all agreed it was FAR too powerful and should have been discarded after use.

So... Did we do it right?
Should cards be kept if they only say reveal and discarded if the say play?

Or is it more complicated than that?
We did try a search on our phones at the time but couldn't find anything concrete.

A simple "Discard after use" text on cards would've helped greatly

Thanks for any help in advance


Edit : Wax Cylinders was the doctor's card
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivor Bolakov
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Event cards are always discarded after use. Allies have an ongoing effect and go in the ally slot on the board.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nanozawr Nanozawr
msg tools
Fast Horses is an item card. You have to discard it only if there is no yellow numbers on train ticket.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Borna Bairn
United Kingdom
Falkirk
Scotland
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Great.

My thanks to both of you.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randal Divinski
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lord_Squinty wrote:
A simple "Discard after use" text on cards would've helped greatly

Yes, yes, YES! A major improvement of 3rd Edition over 2nd Edition was by switching to encounter CARDS (with text on them) instead of chits (which required you to look up their icon in the rulebook, or memorize them).

And then they were too lazy to put all the instructions on the card, so that the player still has too go back to the rule book. D'Oh!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randal Divinski
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Citations [EDITED]:

LTP, p. 10:
"To play an event card, a player reads the text on the card and resolves the described effect. Then, he places that event card faceup in the event discard pile." (emphasis added)

RR (p. 8): "Event cards that are played or removed from a player’s hand are discarded faceup."

[NOTE: after ranting that this was not in the RR, I found it.]
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.