Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » General

Subject: Duke damage question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim . K
United Kingdom
Southend-on-Sea
Essex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
In a campaign, what happens to Duke between scenarios if he received damage or horror equal to his strength /sanity?

Obviously at the time, he gets discarded. But how are we to treat him between scenarios?

Were it that he was an ally, I would presume he just 'refreshes' and reconvenes for the next scenario, like all other allies.

But he isn't an ally.

Investigators facing the same situation take one trauma to go into the next scenario with a handicap. Does Duke do the same?

Trying to establish where Duke 'fits' in this regard from the rules ref is not obvious.

There's reference to 'non-story assets' on page 4, which could be relevant to describing Duke, but I can't find a reference to what happens to non story assets if they ever become eliminated.

Any ideas?

Jim
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
It may seem like Duke is the Investigator, and Pete is his Ally, but Pete is in fact the Investigator, and Duke is indeed just an Ally.

One that starts in play, and doesn't take up an Ally slot, but an Ally none the less (he has the Ally trait).

So, treat him exactly the same as you would any other Ally.

(Incidentally, he is not the only Ally that lacks the Ally slot icon...)
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim . K
United Kingdom
Southend-on-Sea
Essex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Cool, so he can just start the next scenario perfectly restored to full sniffer health! :-D
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamie
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Scorpion0x17 wrote:
It may seem like Duke is the Investigator, and Pete is his Ally, but Pete is in fact the Investigator, and Duke is indeed just an Ally.

One that starts in play, and doesn't take up an Ally slot, but an Ally none the less (he has the Ally trait).

So, treat him exactly the same as you would any other Ally.

(Incidentally, he is not the only Ally that lacks the Ally slot icon...)


Wait... Duke does not count towards an ally slot? My mind is blown if that is true. Where does it state that?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon H
United States
Orion Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wyndam22 wrote:
Scorpion0x17 wrote:
It may seem like Duke is the Investigator, and Pete is his Ally, but Pete is in fact the Investigator, and Duke is indeed just an Ally.

One that starts in play, and doesn't take up an Ally slot, but an Ally none the less (he has the Ally trait).

So, treat him exactly the same as you would any other Ally.

(Incidentally, he is not the only Ally that lacks the Ally slot icon...)


Wait... Duke does not count towards an ally slot? My mind is blown if that is true. Where does it state that?

He doesn't have an Ally slot icon. Therefore, he doesn't take up that slot.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phoenix Bird
Antarctica
msg tools
mbmbmb
Duke is an Ally. He is an Ally because he has the Ally Keyword. Ally is written on his card in bold. The slot does not determine a card’s keyword. Baron Samedi takes up the Ally slot but he isn’t an Ally.

Phoenix
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim . K
United Kingdom
Southend-on-Sea
Essex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb


Having an ally trait makes the card an ally. Having an 'ally icon' however is what takes up your ally slot.
You can have a card with an ally trait, but no ally icon, (like Duke).
In that instance, the ally 'slot' is not used up,but is left free for an additional ally with the ally icon to fill it. Happy days!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.