Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Yamataï» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fleet #7 "remove up to 2 boats" special power timing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alec Clair
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had a tournament last evening and players raised a couple of questions.

The game is close to the end and there are no more green (or black) boat in the general supply. If a player pick fleet tile #7 which allows him to remove up to 2 boats from the board and put them back in the general supply, could he first remove a green boat (or a black one) from the board before picking the green and black boat afforded by fleet tile #7?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
steven smolders
Belgium
Heist-op-den-Berg
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
badge
Will play almost everything. Unless i hate it ;)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The game would end immidiatly when there is no boat of one colour so he wouldn't get to take his turn anyway.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alec Clair
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think so, the rules says " There is no boat of one color remaining when setting up a new round.".
IMO, and I asked the devs face to face about it, all game ending conditions are checked during the setting up a new round phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bruno cathala
France
st pierre en faucigny
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
deltarn wrote:
We had a tournament last evening and players raised a couple of questions.

The game is close to the end and there are no more green (or black) boat in the general supply. If a player pick fleet tile #7 which allows him to remove up to 2 boats from the board and put them back in the general supply, could he first remove a green boat (or a black one) from the board before picking the green and black boat afforded by fleet tile #7?



When you take your fleet, you get:
- The corresponding ships
- a special ability

you can solve these two things in the order of your choice

so yes, you can remove boards from the board before taking yours
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alec Clair
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alberto Barbati
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bruno des Montagnes wrote:

When you take your fleet, you get:
- The corresponding ships
- a special ability

you can solve these two things in the order of your choice

so yes, you can remove boards from the board before taking yours


Good to know, thanks. About the same power, can you use it also after building? For example:

A) place ships

B) build prestige building

C) remove from the board the yellow ship(s) used in step B to prevent opponents to use them

I think it should be allowed since the rules say the power "can be activated at any point during your turn".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bruno cathala
France
st pierre en faucigny
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
iaanus wrote:
Bruno des Montagnes wrote:

When you take your fleet, you get:
- The corresponding ships
- a special ability

you can solve these two things in the order of your choice

so yes, you can remove boards from the board before taking yours


Good to know, thanks. About the same power, can you use it also after building? For example:

A) place ships

B) build prestige building

C) remove from the board the yellow ship(s) used in step B to prevent opponents to use them

I think it should be allowed since the rules say the power "can be activated at any point during your turn".


yes for sure it works (and it's used that way very often)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Pereira
Australia
flag msg tools
This actually makes the game sound a lot more deep (and exciting) than I initially anticipated. Extremely glad I have preordered this!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edwin Sch
msg tools
Don't the rules state that the special powers of the boat tiles have to be resolved in phase 1 of your turn?

Building is a later phase if I recall right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alec Clair
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Edwin1984 wrote:
Don't the rules state that the special powers of the boat tiles have to be resolved in phase 1 of your turn?

Building is a later phase if I recall right.


Just read the rules! "Each fleet also allows you to use a special power that can be activated at any point during your turn".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edwin Sch
msg tools
You don't have to get mad. My interpretation was turn equals fase 1. But this makes sense.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francesca Slade
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Can I use this power to just remove one not two boats?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alec Clair
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fslade wrote:
Can I use this power to just remove one not two boats?


Yes you can. The rules on p.7 sidebox say
Quote:
You may remove up to 2 boats from the board and
place them back in the reserve
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.