Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Wing Leader: Supremacy 1943-1945» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fighter Bomber attacked rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Arfwedson
msg tools
Would a fighter bomber wanting to retain its bombload, when attacked by enemy fighter, also attack the enemy fighter in the ensuing combat phase or just “be on the receiving end”, because he has no tally. On the other hand as we’ve played the rules so far; when a fighter is attacked and has no tally or has a tally on another unit he still get’s to attack, even though bounced. For some reason this doesn’t seem right with the FB.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Gilbert
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmb
I'm new to the game, but the way I read it they drop their bombs and become fighters if attacked. Here are the rules sections I used to come to this conclusion.

7.2.2
If the squadron does not have a tally at all, it automatically places a tally marker on the attacking primary combatant after combat is resolved.

9.2.1.1 Jettisoning Bombs
Players may choose to jettison bombs from bomber squadrons during movement or after an air combat is resolved. Fighter-bombers must jettison bombs immediately if they tally an enemy squadron, either in the Tally Phase or following an air combat [15.2.4].

15.2.4 Fighter-Bombers
Fighter class units carrying bomb loads are called ‘fighter-bombers’ and behave as bombers up to the point they jettison or drop their bombs, after which they revert to being fighters [3.2.1].
...
Fighter-bombers must jettison their bombs immediately the moment they tally an enemy squadron, either in the Tally Phase or following an air combat [9.2.1.1]. A fighter-bomber that no longer has bombs becomes a fighter, changes its mission to sweep and may strafe [15.2.3].

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Arfwedson
msg tools
Thanks for the reply.
The problem is that, as far as I can read the rules, that a fighter Bomber can refuse the otherwise mandatory tally after combat. This seems to indicate that fighter bombers do not jettison bombs when attacked. They only do this when they have a tally. Instead they enter combat and afterwards (if they survive) carry on their mission. But do they get to defend in the combat phase in a similar fashion as a "bounced" unit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Åkerlund
Sweden
Vallentuna
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb

All armed aircraft can defend. FB's with a bomb loads are just easier to bounce and obviously also suffer the -1 speed/turn modifier etc.


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Brimmicombe-Wood
United Kingdom
Ely
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Peter, a fundamental part of the combat system is that defenders ALWAYS get to roll combat against attackers EXCEPT in those places where we mandate otherwise (such as long-range attacks [13.5.2] or where the defender is an unarmed aircraft [10.5.3]). So yes, fighter-bombers that want to keep their bombs roll combat as well as the fighters attacking them. Of course, those FBs are disadvantaged by their reduced strength for carrying bombs.

Rule references are to v2.0 rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.