Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Tribes: Early Civilization» Forums » General

Subject: Questions about events which affect VP rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Big Head Zach
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rulebook as posted on the KS says "keep this tile as a reminder so you can always can calculate your total VP". Is this a roundabout way to indicate that these are assessed only at the end of the game and are not instantly-applied deductions?

Otherwise, I can only assume the reason you'd keep them is merely to account for the possibility that you might get a penalty event before you have any VP, and since the track doesn't have a negative VP zone, you want to make sure that it's counted correctly.

Since you only take the penalty if (at that time) you're weakest, if you can't reduce your VP at that moment, you keep the tile to remember to do it later, but you don't re-evaluate your Strength later.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rustan Håkansson
Sweden
Norrköping
flag msg tools
designer
bgdev.club is really a site address, no www or .com needed :)
badge
Join the Board Game Development Club, see behind the scenes, participate in development, add the games you are working on
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The VP changes from events are performed immediately. It is possible but extremely unlikely (essentially you have to play really bad on purpose to make it happen) that a player gets negative VP. There are only 2 of 12, they give you -1 and -2. Inventing on your first turn will give you 2 VP, which normally all players, even first time players blind-testing, do. Even if a negative event comes up first, it is very strange to pay shells to take it early (normally players wait until a sizeable accumulation of shells has happened).

But to be absolutely clear in the rules I have now added this section:
"In the extremely unlikely circumstance that you would have negative VP after choosing an event, deduct the VP of the event once you get some positive VP."
Thank you!

The reason for the text is that a player can always re-check their VP if they keep events that affect their VP. You add up the VP from your technologies, civilization level bonuses and event tiles to get your current total. If you discard them and is a bit forgetful so you think you might have missed to increase your VP, you have no way to check.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.