Christopher
United States
flag msg tools

Initial Thoughts
The double turn really hurt Great Britain. Even though GB can attrition this turn, she can’t force the Germans off of Manchester because it is an objective hex. Whatever the British roll for attrition, the Germans will just take the losses from RC units around Berlin.

Next, I hope those of you who read these session reports will find this interesting. I've been saying all along that Great Britain probably lost the game when she decided to take the losses to her fleets on the attack on Bremen. However, there is still hope. While GB won't win this game, it is possible for the Russians and Americans to overwhelm the Germans. We will have to see what happens.

Additionally, people make mistakes, and if Paul makes one or two big ones with the Axis, then the Allies could take back the lead very quickly.

Start
DoW: none

Options:
Russia: attritions on all fronts
Great Britain: attritions on all fronts
France: Pass on all fronts.

Voluntary Destruction of Units: none

Movement
Great Britain moves the 6 fleet from Great Yarmouth to the USA box. I do this because France will be defeated this turn. That means my only supply source for Great Britain is London itself, but if London falls, then the USA. On the German player’s next turn there’s a small chance that he risks going for London right away. If he takes London then I automatically lose GB unless I successfully have one of my fleets makes it to the USA box. Since the Germans outnumber the British fleets, that is extremely unlikely to be successful. Therefore, while all his fleets are inverted this turn, I move that 6 fleet to the USA now in preparation for next turn. I don’t want GB’s survival to depend on whether or not a fleet makes it to the USA box. I want to at least give me a chance to counter-attack London.

The Russians will later face the Germans. There are several ways to defend against the Germans. I chose to keep a front line of the cheap 1-3 infantry. I then am going to pull back my 2nd line. Behind the 2nd line of infantry go the Russian tanks spaced 3 hexes apart. If he breaks through the first line (and he can easily do that at any hex he wants) then Germany can only advance a few spaces at most with his tanks. If I setup my defense this way then I have to keep my 2nd line far enough back so that the airborne cannot open a hole in my 2nd line. I have tanks behind the 2nd line to prevent massive exploitations.

I also am using Lake Peipus (hexes F42, G42) in present day Latvia as a shield to plug in holes since I don’t have enough units to defend properly yet.

Here’s Russia after movement:


One of the dangers to the German player is that if he breaks through, his tanks can easily exploit, but the infantry get left behind. If the infantry are left behind then the tanks are out front, and in that situation, the Russians should launch an all out attack on as many of the German tanks they can kill. In other words, it is dangerous for Germany to get her tanks out front because then her expensive units are not protected themselves by the cheaper infantry. That was my thinking anyway as I pulled back for a better defensive position.

Here’s France/GB after movement:

*Note: there is a British RC unit on Great Yarmouth that is covered by the stack that is expanded on Calais.

In France there’s no chance I can take Paris back, so as expected France will be defeated. Paul and I go ahead and setup the Vichy forces with the fleets on Marseille, and 2 RC units. Germany will probably get Vichy later, but there will be no useful ground units.

In Great Britain, the tough decision is whether to leave some beaches empty. I believe the German will continue to bring in units through Rosyth. I therefore move a 3-4 infantry and 4-5 tank onto hex J23 (NW of London), and the identical setup on J24 (NE of London). This gets me 14 unit power so I can attrition on the 11-20 column. However, no matter how good (or bad) I roll, I won’t be able to attrition him out of Manchester because it is an objective hex. I also move a 1-3 infantry onto the mountain at I23. This prevents direct access to London. The German will have to attack the stacks of 7 if he wants to get at London, or try to take another beach (the empty beaches at J25 or L21) and attack from two different directions. My guess is why would he risk sea invasions turn after turn onto beaches at J25 and L21 when he already has the port at Rosyth. If he wants to get units into GB he can SR them in, or sea transport them in. Besides, taking the beach at J25 or L21 does not really get him any closer to London. London is surrounded with British units. Finally, I now have 10 power on London (though I did not expand the stack because it would cover other stacks. There are two 3-4 infantry and one 4-5 tank on London.

Here’s West Africa:


The British should have destroyed the guy on Malta so I could rebuild him in GB. I forgot to do that. I still need that boat on Gibraltar to delay the Italians getting into the west. I also need the infantry on Gibraltar so that he doesn’t just paratroop drop onto Gibraltar. Plus, in the event that he does take London, Gibraltar is its own supply source. This means that even if all my other units are out of supply, I’d have one unit (the guy on Gibraltar) who is in supply. That unit can attempt to sea transport to GB and try to retake London. Even though that would be at very low odds for success, I want to leave that option available as long as possible.

Here’s East Africa:


Here’s the whole map before missions are declared:


Missions
None, since GB attritioned.

Combat
The attrition roll was a 2 on the 11-20 column, which forced Germany to lose 2 RC units.

Construction and SR
Russia has nothing to build.

GB has nothing to build.

For Strategic Redeployment, GB sent the RC unit from L23 to J25 and sent an airbase to hex I22.

Russia sent four units into Persia, including a tank. The axis will eventually be at war with Russia and Russia doesn’t want the Italians to be taking huge swathes of territory every turn. If the Italians can link up with the Germans then it is extra hard for Russia to defend.

Here’s the whole map after SR:


Strategic Warfare Revealed
Both sides reveal their strategic warfare builds from Spring 1940. GB built 4 anti-subs and 1 SAC. Germany built 7 subs. This leaves us with 3 subs on the board and 1 SAC. GB must lose 9 BRPs and Germany must lose 2. Germany must also remove a 5-4 air wing from play for the next whole year.

1941 YSS
GB 120 (new base after SW losses) +5 (Morocco) - 12 (SW Builds) = 113
GB: 56/turn spending limit. 12/year foreign aid limit.

Russia: 90 + 31 (106 leftover in 1940) = 121 (new base) + 25 (east europe) = 146
Russia: 73/turn spending limit. 14/year foreign aid limit

Germany 148 (new base) + 87 (Poland, Netherlands, Belgium, France) = 235 - 22 = 213

Italy 75 + 30 (Algeria, Tunisia, Egypt, Transjordan, Lebanon/Syria, Palestine) = 105

Allied total = 259. Axis total = 318. Axis will go first in 1941.

Final Thoughts
The British are pretty much in the same situation as I described in the previous session report. How quickly Great Britain is conquered depends on how risky the Germans are willing to roll and whether or not a 4, 6 combo gets rolled. Stay tuned to see what happens.

One note on the BRP situation. Russia grew permanently by 31. That’s a big deal. If Russia spends nothing in 1941 then she will grow by another 44 to her base. That’s a significant amount.

If I had known how this was turning out, it might have been good for Russia to take out Turkey. Russia could have attritioned Turkey to death and only had to spend 10 BRPs for the declaration of war, a net +20. But, it is nice to have Turkey as a buffer to help protect Russia’s southern flank.

Finally, neither side has revealed her variant counter draw. Hmmmm...that eliminates several possibilities for both sides.
24 
 Thumb up
5.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Converse
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't know how to play this game and wouldn't have time to do so...but thank you for putting the time into this; it is fascinating! Have some GG!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jumbit
China
Zhejiang
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Russia sent four units into Persia


Wow, I didn't know they could do that! That's one way to keep lend-lease open. I guess Italian tanks won't be rampaging through Astrakhan after all.

Italy with 105...she can do some damage with that. This is looking like the games of 3R I used to play against Avalon Hill's computer version, Italian tanks on the Soviet border after taking the Middle East, and panzers in England. It's still a game if England gets knocked out, surprisingly. GB is just more territory to defend for the German and the Americans can really mess with him.

Quote:
Finally, neither side has revealed her variant counter draw. Hmmmm...that eliminates several possibilities for both sides.


What's been eliminated and what's left? What kind of variant counters are being used?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drugar Oakenhammer
Croatia
Zagreb
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm glad to see this game running again, can't wait to see how it turns our.

Btw. I've just noticed that Russia can actually build partisans in both Britain and France. Not that useful since they must conform to their country's option on that Front, though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher
United States
flag msg tools
Drugar Oakenhammer wrote:
I'm glad to see this game running again, can't wait to see how it turns our.

Btw. I've just noticed that Russia can actually build partisans in both Britain and France. Not that useful since they must conform to their country's option on that Front, though.


Russia has to be at war before she can build partisans.

Actually, I think (I'd have to check) that rule applies to all countries. Nobody can build partisans until Russia and Germany are at war.

Also, I think the only exception to this rule would be the extra variant counters where the axis get the Wafdist uprising in Egypt. The extra variant counters left a lot of things unanswered. Paul and I decided that the Germans could build partisans even if Russia and Germany were not at war. Paul had the variant where France and Great Britain could occupy Belgium without having to declare war. That created a lot of questions like what if the French occupy Belgium but then the French want to declare war on Belgium. Do the French have to first vacate all units?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher
United States
flag msg tools
jumbit wrote:

What's been eliminated and what's left? What kind of variant counters are being used?


It is always possible that one side had a variant, but chose not to play it. But, we can eliminate the following:

Should I only list what is eliminated per this session report? We are currently (March 20, 2017) in the summer 1942 turn in the actual game. I know several other variants have been eliminated.


Axis do not have: 1, 2, 4, 6, 9
1 (Iraq becomes minor aly). If he had that he would have played it long ago.

2 (Irish resistance). If he had that he would have played it before conquering Great Britain.

4 (Spain). You have to play it in the Spring 1941 turn. Oh wait, we haven't gotten there in the session reports, but he didn't play it and he would have if he had it. So that's eliminated.

6 (50 BRPs to Germany). He would have had to play that in 1942 YSS and he didn't.

9 (Mussolini encounters less oposition). He would have played that at opening setup.

So Axis do not have 1, 2, 4, 6, or 9. There are a couple of others he might have, and potentially could have, played. I'm pretty sure about these.

Allies do not have: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9 .

1 (better french pre-war preparation). If France had that she would have played it at opening setup.

2 (40 BRPs for France). If France had that I would have played it prior to France falling. I would have not had to worry so much about the BRPs. In fact, variant 2 says it can be played anytime. Imagine if Germany *thinks* it is getting a double turn and so does not setup any defense. Then, at the end of the German turn the French play the variant and suddenly the allies go first next turn and Germany is totally out of position. No, if I had that variant I would have played it for sure, and possibly beaten Germany.

3 (all french colonies become free french, etc). I would have played that and instead of going kamikaze I would have for sure sent the 3 tanks and both air to Tunis before France fell.

4 (British growth rate to 50%). Although this can technically be played at any time, I think you can know from my previous postings that I was saving a few British BRPs to grow 40%. If I could have grown by 50% instead I would have already played it.

5 (Allies lose only 2 for sub warfare). This must be played in 1941 YSS. I don't have that.

6 (America gets her fleets). I know we're not there yet in the session report, but if I had variant 6 I would have played it when the USA entered the war. I don't have it.

9 (Add 50 BRPs to Russia). So, you guys haven't seen it yet, but this past turn I could have had Russian tanks in both Berlin and Rome if I could have had a double turn. And trust, me, I DEFINITELY would have played variant 9 if I had it on this last turn. I didn't play variant 9, which is a pretty safe bet that I don't have that one. I know I'm giving away a hint to Paul here that he might not have known, but I'm pretty sure he knows that if I had this variant I would have played it on my last turn too. So, he's probably already figured out I don't have 9 and so I don't mind posting this here publicly.

I also am giving away a little hint here to spark your interest in later session reports. After reading the above paragraph, you've got to be wondering how could the Russians be within striking distance of Rome and Berlin. Well, I was. And trust me, I spent like 8 hours planning a move and then I forgot that the guy I wanted to move was actually isolated (both Paul and I forgot to put an isolated tag on him). I then had to redo my thinking/move. I realized there was still a remote chance of getting the double turn, which I went for. I won't tell you how that turned out though. That would ruin the fun. I will tell you in the future session report.

So, Allies do not have: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, or 9.



4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.