Isaac Heres
Israel
flag msg tools
first of all I understand that the attacking phase and the battle doesn't really take effect at the very beginning of the game (when you are in location #1; The Shire). So if it's player-A who mustered Sam and Player B who could muster Frodo, there is no attack against Sauron because there are no enemies to fight in Sauron's active pool or mustered.

Now fast forward after you've taken Sauron's turn and reveal the next location and bring out the enemy cards and dices. My questions are like this;

when if it's the Fellowship's turn and Frodo and Sam comes into play as mustered to attack the enemies on Sauron's side, do you just take that small printed number (1 or 2) on the top right corner of the die and compared it with the enemy's defense value and decrease his points till that enemy is dead?

Can you land a combo number of hits to an enemy or is it one hit per turn, meaning if the enemy has a 1 on the top right corner and 2 for defense and the Fellowship has an attack value of 1 and defense of 1 - then does that Fellowship do one damage and stays mustered until Sauron take his turn and kill off that Fellowship instantly?

But then if that Fellowship survives the onslaught, you get a point for surviving in the mustered?

When the enemies takes their turn to attack, do they attack to one of the players with a Fellowship on mustered or do they attack both players who co-op with Fellowship who are mustered?

that brings me to this question; when you are taking your turn as the Fellowship, as a co-op, do you add the value on one die of player-A with the dice of player-B?

In what circumstances would it be where you can't advance the next location because you didn't kill off all the enemies at that location?

The rule book says that when the enemy cards come into play, each card gets three dices but there are more dices corresponding that enemy. Does it always have to be just three dices next to their card and can Sauron makes a combination with different dices or does it have to be three of the same dice?

When you kill an enemy and goes into the destroyed area of the placemat and you run out of dices as the enemy, do you refill and repeat the same three dices?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex P
United States
Rockville
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's been a while since I played, so I don't remember all the answers to your questions. But if you haven't, you should find the revised rulebook which is in the Files section. The one that comes in the box is terrible; probably most of your questions will be answered by reading the revision.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe McIntyre
United States
Grand Rapids
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmb
Boardgamefreak2geek wrote:

when if it's the Fellowship's turn and Frodo and Sam comes into play as mustered to attack the enemies on Sauron's side, do you just take that small printed number (1 or 2) on the top right corner of the die and compared it with the enemy's defense value and decrease his points till that enemy is dead?


No.
You add all the attack values (number in the upper right corner of your mustered units) and any bonuses together to get your attack value. If any other players have units in their PREPARED AREA you can add them to your attack value. The player whose prepared units (NOT mustered) that you used gets 1 glory point for each of their prepared units that you use.
Next you choose one of Sauron's Mustered units. Compare that single units defense score to your attack score, if you have the higher number than Sauron's unit is destroyed, you subtract that units defense value from your attack score, this gives you a new, lower, attack value. You then repeat this until you have no attack value left or until all of Sauron's remaining units have a higher defense than your attack value, at which point your attack ends and you move to the next phase of your turn and your mustered units stay in the mustered area.

Boardgamefreak2geek wrote:
Can you land a combo number of hits to an enemy or is it one hit per turn, meaning if the enemy has a 1 on the top right corner and 2 for defense and the Fellowship has an attack value of 1 and defense of 1 - then does that Fellowship do one damage and stays mustered until Sauron take his turn and kill off that Fellowship instantly?


It's a total attack value compared to one of Sauron's mustered units, which is then subtracted from your attack value,if your attack value is still above zero you could defeat another of Sauron's units. Your total attack value must be higher than the defense value of one of Sauron's units. If you have an attack value of one you can defeat one of Sauron's mustered units that has a defense value of one. All your mustered units stay in the muster area until they are defeated bt Sauron or scored at the beginning of your next turn.

Boardgamefreak2geek wrote:
But then if that Fellowship survives the onslaught, you get a point for surviving in the mustered?


Yes

Boardgamefreak2geek wrote:
When the enemies takes their turn to attack, do they attack to one of the players with a Fellowship on mustered or do they attack both players who co-op with Fellowship who are mustered?


They attack everyone in turn order that has units in their Muster area.

Boardgamefreak2geek wrote:
that brings me to this question; when you are taking your turn as the Fellowship, as a co-op, do you add the value on one die of player-A with the dice of player-B?


On your turn you can either muster units and attack on your turn or prepare units which you do NOT use to attack on your turn but they are available for other players to use on their turn. You NEVER combine units from the muster area of another player and you cannot use your own units from the prepared area to attack, only those in the muster area.

Boardgamefreak2geek wrote:
In what circumstances would it be where you can't advance the next location because you didn't kill off all the enemies at that location?


If Sauron has ANY forces in his muster area you do NOT advance.

Boardgamefreak2geek wrote:
The rule book says that when the enemy cards come into play, each card gets three dices but there are more dices corresponding that enemy. Does it always have to be just three dices next to their card and can Sauron makes a combination with different dices or does it have to be three of the same dice?


At Rivendell you place 3 on the card in the Wilds and 2 in Sauron's active pool.
At Helm's Deep you replace 2 Fellowship enemies with 2 Two Towers enemies, these come from the box, not the supply of three you placed in the Wilds, Pelennor Fields is the same but you replace 2 Two Towers enemies with 2 Return of the King enemies from the box, those replaced dice go back in the box.

Boardgamefreak2geek wrote:
When you kill an enemy and goes into the destroyed area of the placemat and you run out of dices as the enemy, do you refill and repeat the same three dices?


No. You only move saurons dice when they are defeated, or if a location specifically tells you to.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.