Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Element» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rule question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
M B
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Do water stones have to be able to do their fluid movement to be able to place them. For example placing them in a dead endconnected to other water?

Also if you for example have a 4 water stone long line can you choose to only move ot 2 spaces instead of 4?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
United States
Altoona
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Example B:

Quote:
When a Water Stone is placed next to another Water Stone it becomes a River and must now move as many spaces as the size of the river" (pg. 7, para. 2)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
United States
Altoona
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In an amusing note, a River is defined as more than one water stone in a line.

Quote:
A straight line of Water Stones (more than one) is called a River. (pg. 6, para. 2)


The next line says a river moves when a water stone is placed next to a river.

Quote:
If a Water Stone is placed orthogonally next to a River, then that River moves ..." (pg. 6, para 2)


Using substitution, this line should read: "If a Water Stone is placed orthogonally next to a straight line of (more than one) water stones, then that river moves ..."

Thus a water stone placed next to one stone would not move. A water stone placed next to more than one stone would move.

Of course this is not the intention as Example B disagrees with this interpretation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Richie
United States
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmb
Correct. A river of water MUST be able to make its full movement.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Richie
United States
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for the catch! We'll fix it!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dante Devat
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
In this case, does that mean the water stone may not be placed to cause an illegal move or that the water stone may be placed but the river simply doesn't move afterwards since it can't run its full course?

From the rulebook:
"If a River cannot move its full number of spaces then the move is illegal and cannot be made."

The second move in this sentence could reasonably be interpreted as

A) The player's move (game action) of placing the stone
B) The stones' move (game reaction), which in this case happens to be a move of movement
or C) A reference to move as it is used in the first sense (albeit as a verb rather than a noun), which is specific game terminology to describe the reaction from B
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.