Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

High Frontier (3rd edition)» Forums » General

Subject: Space Colonies rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Doug DeMoss
United States
Stillwater
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have one question that I couldn't find any answer to after reading through the Colonization rulebook. Why would I want a Space Colony? Is defense of a factory the only reason? Or is it perhaps useful to dispose of a politically inconvenient colonist card?

If I'm not missing something, you lose the colonist card (essentially transforming it into a colony) and thus potentially lose voting power as well. Is that right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rus
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not sure about 3rd ed, but at least in 2nd ed, a colony is a VP and you get the crew card back in hand to launch again (representing a different crew of course).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Mantuano
United States
Hamilton Square
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A colony is also immune to felonies (hijacking, claim jump, etc)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pawel Garycki
Poland
Gdansk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
In Exomigration there are also Independent Colonies which give you votes although you need to establish then with readl colonists.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug DeMoss
United States
Stillwater
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
andrewdoull wrote:
A space colony is worth 2 VP. This may not sound like much but it adds up.

You can also build Space Colonies with your crew, which allows you to then boost a new crew to LEO instead of having to get them back from your factory.


Ah, I had missed the 2 VP for a colony. It would have been nice if that sentence had been bolded like the one earlier in the paragraph indicating all the other things that give 1 VP. That makes sense.

It does seem odd, though, that it appears you'd generally rather use your crew card than a colonist to colonize.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.