Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Talisman (Revised 4th Edition): The Harbinger Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ascendant divine rules question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Sutphen
United States
Edmond
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the ascendant divine discard her divine gifts when she casts them?

If not the wtf she is way too over powered.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Tubb
United States
Fuquay Varina
NC
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, she does discard them just as if they were a spell. Divine Gifts are basically extra spells that don't count against the number of spells you can carry or cast per turn. They don't technically count as spells, but you still play them just like they are spells, including discarding them when cast.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Sutphen
United States
Edmond
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Awesome thanks. We played where she didn't discard them. Needless to say she got the spell that lets her choose the direction you travel & no one could get into the center. We ran out of time before we could organize against her
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grarrrg Grarrrgowski
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
acefury wrote:
Awesome thanks. We played where she didn't discard them. Needless to say she got the spell that lets her choose the direction you travel & no one could get into the center. We ran out of time before we could organize against her


Technically, her card says "Once per round, you may cast one of your divine gifts as..."
A round being "every player taking(skipping) 1 turn".

Even if you could keep the spell/gift she would only be able to keep at most 2 players out of the Inner region.

3 (or more) other players could still make progress, albeit at a slower pace.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Samuel Bailey
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There was a time during development in which she did keep her 3 divine powers and could use them each once per round. As discovered here, that did prove to be broken when certain Spells were gained as Divine Powers.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johan Beijer
msg tools
mb
Can the gypsy take the divine gifts as it is discarded? I guess not if it not considered a spell?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grarrrg Grarrrgowski
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Usmanov wrote:
Can the gypsy take the divine gifts as it is discarded? I guess not if it not considered a spell?


Agree with 'not'.
Ascendant Divine says "...do not count as Spells for the purpose of other effects...", and Gypsy would likely qualify as an 'other effect'.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.