Hide
12 Posts

Sentinels of the Multiverse» Forums » Variants

Subject: Custom Hero: Big Kahuna (Looking for Feedback) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Wex Weximus
msg tools
So this is my first attempt at a custom hero for sentinels. This character was initially a gift that my wife designed for me as a present for our wedding. We have since been playtesting, resdesigning and working out the kinks in order to create a fun, unique, and well balanced hero. We're still looking for feedback, especially since some of these cards are very wordy and we'd love some ideas on how to shorten the text. All ideas are welcome, so please let us know what you think!

Big Kahuna is a support tank, with a focus on buffing, healing, and enabling draw card for his allies. He takes inspiration mainly from the Scholar and the Naturalist, with his main mechanic being his main new card type, Terrain, along with the secondary land keywords that go with them. Like the naturalist's forms, each terrain uses trigger symbols, focuses on certain mechanics, and only one can be out at a time. The twist in this case is that nearly every card in his deck brings out a terrain card and has additional terrain based trigger effects if they are played while their associated terrain is already on the field. This creates gameplay choices where managing the current terrain is crucial to Big Kahuna's power and success.

Big Kahuna
HP: 30
Base Power: One with the Land - You may activate effects as if you had just played a Volcano, Ocean, and Jungle card. You may draw a card.
Incapacitated:
*Destroy 1 Environment card.
*One player may draw a card now.
*One hero regains 2 hp.

Terrain Cards (3)

Seismic Activity (1)
Ongoing, Terrain
When this card enters play, destroy any other Terrain cards.
Whenever you play a Volcano card, Big Kahuna may deal 1 target 2 fire damage.
You may activate [Red Volcano] effects.
Power: Reduce damage dealt to all hero targets by 1 until the start of your next turn.