Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

The Siege of Orgun» Forums » Rules

Subject: The Advisor Question... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martyn Smith
England
Bourne
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
badge
"We don't see things as they are, but as we are." Anais Nin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the DRA utilises the 'advisor' do they get a choice about which result to use, or must they go with the current one?

In other words, if they'd rolled 18 whilst defending the airfield and used the 'advisor' to roll again, this time scoring 17 - can they take the highest roll, or are they now committed to the newly-rolled 17?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P R
France
Paris
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You have to take the last roll.
Adivsor is good for low-mid range roll, risky with higher rolls.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Miranda
France
Contamine sur Arve
Haute-Savoie, Rhône-Alpes
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I assume you can only decide to re-roll the DRA/Soviet roll?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Miranda
France
Contamine sur Arve
Haute-Savoie, Rhône-Alpes
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you confirm that the advisor can only re-roll the DRA/Soviet dice? Do you confirm that the DRA/Soviet player can see both rolls before deciding if he re-rolls or not?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martyn Smith
England
Bourne
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
badge
"We don't see things as they are, but as we are." Anais Nin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pmiranda wrote:
I assume you can only decide to re-roll the DRA/Soviet roll?


Yes, the re-roll is only for the DRA/Soviet forces and can be taken once they've decided that their current roll is 'below-par'; then they have to stick with the newly-rolled outcome.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P R
France
Paris
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's right, thanks Martyn !
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Miranda
France
Contamine sur Arve
Haute-Savoie, Rhône-Alpes
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So roll the TWO dice, then decide if you want to re-roll the DRA/SOVIET die. After re-roll, stick with the result, even if it's worse.

Got it, thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Miranda
France
Contamine sur Arve
Haute-Savoie, Rhône-Alpes
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
By the way, I take it the advisor can be used both on attack and defense, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Miranda
France
Contamine sur Arve
Haute-Savoie, Rhône-Alpes
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just finished our game. Mujahideen victory on turn 10 after capturing the fort (by a margin of 1 casualty!). Great game.

By the way, you didn't confirm if the Soviet Advisor can be used both in offense and defense.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.