Can a unit with organic transport but with foot movement (thinking British 43rd infantry mortar units) use their foot movement to climb onto a raised road then flip to their organic movement?
The way the 1.1 Series Rules and WED Exclusive Rules are written this appears to be permissible.
It is addressed directly in The Greatest Day Exclusive Rules though:
15.0 Abandoned Transport
Whenever a Unit with Organic Transport enters a hex that the transport side could not legally enter, either in Column or not, place an Abandoned Transport Marker on that Unit. It has forsaken its organic transport for the rest of the game.
But that is a 2.0 Ruleset. Splitting hairs perhaps, but up to you how to play I guess.