Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Ironclad» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dice symbols on cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Question: on some cards the die symbol is white on others orange. What´s the difference in terms of play?

Found for example here:
https://boardgamegeek.com/image/3363957/ironclad?size=origin...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konstantinos Iovis
Greece
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jamiri wrote:
Question: on some cards the die symbol is white on others orange. What´s the difference in terms of play?

Found for example here:
https://boardgamegeek.com/image/3363957/ironclad?size=origin...


The white d6 symbolizes a regular roll, whereas the red d6 symbolizes the "Damage Control" roll, made when the Ironclad sustains a hit. Players roll the d6 and consult the relevant table found on the Ironclad mat to determine whihc part lf their ship suffers damage. The list of possible results is: Bridge, Weapons, Reactor, Hangar, Hull or Crew.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, all clear now.

On the same cards that are shown here on BGG Derelict Ship and Asteroid Field do not have a white d6, while Infiltration does have one.

Does that mean that for Derelict Ship and Asteroid Field you would not roll a d6? It seems impossible to get a piloting skill of 7, 8 or 9 with one pilot and a few additional +1s for adding other pilots.

Edit: also, if you do not have to roll when would you ever fail the optional Derelict Ship event? You can calculate right from the start whether you meet the 7, 8 or 9 or not. If you do not, you do not try it in the first place.

I think there is probably just the white d6 missing on the card?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konstantinos Iovis
Greece
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jamiri wrote:
Thanks, all clear now.

On the same cards that are shown here on BGG Derelict Ship and Asteroid Field do not have a white d6, while Infiltration does have one.

Does that mean that for Derelict Ship and Asteroid Field you would not roll a d6? It seems impossible to get a piloting skill of 7, 8 or 9 with one pilot and a few additional +1s for adding other pilots.

Edit: also, if you do not have to roll when would you ever fail the optional Derelict Ship event? You can calculate right from the start whether you meet the 7, 8 or 9 or not. If you do not, you do not try it in the first place.

I think there is probably just the white d6 missing on the card?


indeed, a white d6 is missing from these cards.
However, these cards have changed somewhat, as we made simplifications in favor of a more streamlined gameplay.

For example, to approach the Derelict ship, you only have to exhaust a pilot (no roll required). In itself, exhausting a Hero is quite a cost to pay.
Following that, players may exhaust Engineers or Specialists to gain resources: 1 salvage per Engineer exhausted, 1 Gear per 2 Specialists exhausted (no adding of skill points etc).

The Infiltration Operation is now modified, with set difficulty numbers instead of a variable difficulty involving a die roll (12/15/18 for Green, Yellow and Red threat lvl respectively).
Players Exhaust up to 3 heroes (max) and add the skill of their choice (either combat or stealth) with all relevant modifiers like morale or class related plus a roll of 1d6.

You will be able to see all these changes on Tabletopia
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great, thanks. Really looking forward to the demo on Tabletopia.

Wondering how the "exhaust" mechanic really plays out in the game. Using a full action to rest is quite costly and I am a bit concerned about that this could slow down the game significantly, I must say.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konstantinos Iovis
Greece
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jamiri wrote:
Great, thanks. Really looking forward to the demo on Tabletopia.

Wondering how the "exhaust" mechanic really plays out in the game. Using a full action to rest is quite costly and I am a bit concerned about that this could slow down the game significantly, I must say.


You can view the exhausting or resting mechanic of heroes as some sort of resource management. How and when to use a specific hero or having her available for an upcoming encounter are crucial for the ship's survival!

Using an action to rest up to 2 heroes is indeed costly which we hope that will promote discussions and cooperation between players as to which character should be used and why.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.