Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hunting Nightgaunt and Sure Gamble rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
fm4d fm4d
msg tools
https://arkhamdb.com/card/01172 FAQ says that "The ability ceases to apply if you play Sure Gamble." but I cannot find any reason for that. I would understand if there was underlying timing explanation why Sure Gamble will be aplied before/after Hunting Nightgaunt ability but why would it 'cease to apply'??

Thanks for explanation
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Corbett
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Hi - maybe because Sure Gamble changes a negative to a positive, so doubling the negative modifier on Nightgaunt no longer applies.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B.D. Flory
United States
New York
flag msg tools
fm4d wrote:
https://arkhamdb.com/card/01172 FAQ says that "The ability ceases to apply if you play Sure Gamble." but I cannot find any reason for that. I would understand if there was underlying timing explanation why Sure Gamble will be aplied before/after Hunting Nightgaunt ability but why would it 'cease to apply'??

Thanks for explanation


The nightgaunt's ability is an ongoing modifier ("while") It doesn't react to the negative token and remain in effect. So as soon as the token changes from negative to positive, the effect expires and the token is no longer doubled. It just doesn't apply to the situation anymore.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fm4d fm4d
msg tools
Thanks, that makes perfect sense (and is quite obvious in retrospective).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.