Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Formula D» Forums » Rules

Subject: question about 5th and 6th gear rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Wilson
United States
South East LA county
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
So the way we understand the rules you have to roll the black d20 at the end of every player's tun when you're in those gears. This means that in the 8 player game we did last night I was rolling 8 times and taking a ton of damage. Are we doing this right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Berthold Nüchter
Germany
Duisburg
NRW
flag msg tools
I am the walrus
badge
checkpoint
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, this was wrong.
If a player rolls a 20 in 5th gear or a 30 in 6th gear, he
must roll the black die after his car stops. All players in
5th or 6th gear must also roll the black die.
If 1-4 is rolled, the corresponding car loses 1 engine WP.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Maximus
United Kingdom
Liverpool
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
As advised above, playing that rule wrong

Although in all fairness to you, this game can be super complicated to understand all of the rules correctly, i've played it a bunch of times and am still not sure i play it correctly
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Graves
Canada
Cloverdale
B.C.
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quoted from the rulebook. Not only are you rolling for your car while it is your turn, you must also roll when other vehicles are in 5th or 6th gear. Why the other players in that gear must also roll for engine wear when your car is the one pushing its limits makes no sense to me thematically.

"If a player rolls a 20 in 5th gear or a 30 in 6th gear,
this puts a strain on his engine. After his car has finished
moving he must therefore roll the black die
to test whether his engine has withstood the strain.
All players who are driving in 5th or 6th gear at this
moment must also roll the black die. If a number
between 1 and 4 is rolled, the corresponding car
loses 1 WP."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Stanford
United Kingdom
Baildon
West Yorkshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Buckarooo wrote:
Quoted from the rulebook. Not only are you rolling for your car while it is your turn, you must also roll when other vehicles are in 5th or 6th gear. Why the other players in that gear must also roll for engine wear when your car is the one pushing its limits makes no sense to me thematically.

"If a player rolls a 20 in 5th gear or a 30 in 6th gear,
this puts a strain on his engine. After his car has finished
moving he must therefore roll the black die
to test whether his engine has withstood the strain.
All players who are driving in 5th or 6th gear at this
moment must also roll the black die. If a number
between 1 and 4 is rolled, the corresponding car
loses 1 WP."

I think I'd house rule that to only be the player who rolled the 20 or 30. Like you say, it doesn't make any sense thematically why one car pushing its engine would affect the other cars at all.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Berthold Nüchter
Germany
Duisburg
NRW
flag msg tools
I am the walrus
badge
checkpoint
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The reason for this rule is explained here: Motor Damage - everyone rolls...? Why?
"I always assumed that everyone running in 5th or 6th gear was risking taking damage to the engine - it's just that you only have to check every so often, and that was a good way to randomize when you actually check."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
f homess

Portland
Oregon
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Berthold wrote:
No, this was wrong.
If a player rolls a 20 in 5th gear or a 30 in 6th gear, he
must roll the black die after his car stops. All players in
5th or 6th gear must also roll the black die.
If 1-4 is rolled, the corresponding car loses 1 engine WP.

Heh... we've always played that you roll the black die before moving you r car. This puts the engine damage at the point of departure, not the movement end point. I don't think it makes a ton of difference. Anyone think differently?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.