Our group had some conflicting views on the alchemist's Crane Strike. How does it work?
Crane Strike: "Ignore the effect of the defense card of the target hero."
Does 'the defense card' refer to:
a) The card played to defend against Crane Strike
b) The card played to defend against Crane Strike if it is a green defense card?
I've tried to avoid "rules as intended" approach. If you have doubts about a card - always follow the card text word by word.
Does the card text of Crane Strike mention card color?
No, it doesn't. Hence, it affects any defense cards, not just green ones.
(Defense card is a card of any color with word "Defense" in its subtitle.)
Effect = text. Crane strike prevents the effect of any Defense card from resolving. For example, Tigerclaw won't be able to Dodge it.
It does not ignore the defense value of course There are no "i win" cards in the game (well, except for some ultimates).