Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cancelling card "played" vs. card "discarded" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Yomtov
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mb
I discarded a card to get replacements, and my opponent played card 31 - Stalin's Interference to try to cancel my replacements. I say that this card was not "played," but was, in fact, "discarded."

Who's right?
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Liebchen wrote:
I discarded a card to get replacements, and my opponent played card 31 - Stalin's Interference to try to cancel my replacements. I say that this card was not "played," but was, in fact, "discarded."

Who's right?


Excellent Question.

You are right, Comrade Yomtov!

Discarding a card is not the same as playing it for the text effect. That card cannot be used to cancel a discard, or it would have been specified on the card (check card #14 Inexperienced Soviet Officers where you CAN cancel a discard).

Rule 5.4 states (e.g.; discarded card is "spent", not "played).

"[5.4] Other Card Uses
Besides their use in triggering Events, cards may be spent
(discarded) to pay for Replacements, additional Rail Moves,
recovery from Disorganization, and to launch Counterblows
during the Enemy Player’s Combat Phase."


Card #14 states:

Play anytime.
Cancel the just-played or discarded
non-“Play Immediately” Soviet card


Never would Stalin, your beloved leader, interfere with the arrival of more Patriotic Soviet troops to repel the hated Hitlerite Facist invaders from mother Russia's scared soil (You never have enough cannon fodder in the Red Army).






3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Hey, I saw you change your answer, Carl!!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
russ wrote:
Hey, I saw you change your answer, Carl!!!


Well I had to recheck my old game design notes and I was at work when I answered. At least I goofed for only a few minutes.

But thanks you for your message and making me feel somewhat inadequate. It is very much appreciated.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.