Android: Netrunner» Forums » General

Subject: Jackson Howard rotating out?? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Raggio
United States
flag msg tools
mbmb
I just started playing and reading about the game on the web and keep seeing that Jackson Howard is rotating out. What I didn't understand is that I thought it came with the core starter set and none of the core set was supposed to rotate out. What am I missing? Is he not in the core? Are there non-core cards in the starter?

Thanks,
John

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
https://netrunnerdb.com/en/card/04015

Opening Moves
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C&H Schmidt
Germany
Heidelberg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
To add to this: Yes, Jackson Howard is now considered a standard pick to be included in almost every corp deck, but he is indeed in one of the data packs that rotate out, Opening Moves.
(Just like Plascrete Carapace, which at some point was in nearly every runner deck, and is from the data pack What Lies Ahead, also rotating.)

I wouldn't worry about that too much, though. If you really want the data pack, buy it and play with it until rotation, or with people who don't care about rotation.
If you don't want to buy anything that rotates, FFG has already printed several cards with similar effects to Jackson Howard (though none as powerful, which is intentional), and will possibly print others.
In either case, playing without Jackson Howard is not impossible. I don't think him rotating out will be a problem; people just need to adapt and use some of the new, less powerful cards to replace him (more interesting deck building decisions!).
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thanos Larisis
Greece
Athens, Neo Irakleio
Attica
flag msg tools
badge
To the Light
mbmbmbmbmb
On the bottom right corner there is a cad symbol and a number.