GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

8,571 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
19 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
36 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Gloomhaven» Forums » General

Subject: Foam core insert with player trays, card dividers and map tiles holder (Standees edition) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Colin Yu
United States
San Diego
CA
flag msg tools
mb
I'm an amateur foam core insert builder - I've made 5 inserts so far and this is only my second one that's custom designed from scratch. Feeling like this is Isaac Childres' magnum opus, I wanted an insert that did it justice. You can find the design files for this insert here: Foam Core Insert w/ Player Trays and Map Tile Holder (Standees Edition)

Here's some stuff to get out of the way:

• There's 17 total trays in this insert (a culmination of over 190 foam core pieces!). It took about a total of 30+ hours of brainstorming, designing the insert and the dividers, cutting, assembling to create.

• A lot of the hours were sunk into figuring out how to add player trays. Without the player trays I would have a lot more space to play with and would have also probably finished a lot sooner. But I knew I had to have these player trays to have everyone set up and running quickly.

• I have the standee version of Gloomhaven, and everything fits back into the original box. Therefore, while this insert definitely won't fit the miniatures boxes, you might be able to take out the active party miniatures and place them in the empty spot on the top tray? Not having any dimensions for them I can't say for sure.

• Also, not knowing how this "legacy" game evolves made it difficult to plan ahead for flexibility. For example, the player trays were built around four of the starter characters as a reference, so if there's a character later on that uses twice the amount of cards or something like that, it'll break this system.