Hide
9 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: Research for Game Economy? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
- -
msg tools
Hi everyone, I've been a member for a long time but this is my first time posting.

I'm currently studying games design at university and though it's generally geared towards computer/console games I decided to create a board game for my creative project.

Anyway, I want to create a game that mixes adventure elements with economic elements. Though I have experience with adventure style games. Such as Eldritch Horror, Castle Ravenloft, Decent ect. I don't have much experience with games that focus on economic mechanics. So I'm looking for games that have ecenomic aspects so I can see how other designers have dealt with the issues like supply and demand, batering, debt, inflation ect. I'm looking for anything and everything at this point.

I'm specifically looking for games that have trading between players or are there any games that try to simulate running a business? Also, the players are competing to make the most money, not actually drive each other out of business like in Monopoly.

If the project is successful I hope to at least sell it on the Game Crafter.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
https://boardgamegeek.com/advsearch/boardgame

Expand Category and Mechanic

Have fun exploring.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gil Hova
United States
Jersey City
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
First one I can think of is Ground Floor.

Others: Power Grid, Arkwright, Food Chain Magnate (featuring Splotter's notorious exploding economy), or any 18xx game (1830: Railways & Robber Barons is the most famous, but if you can find Poseidon, that is a good starting point for the 18xx family).