Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Melee Attack on a adjacent figure with intervening figure rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ron
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
“It's all in the mind.” ― George Harrison
badge
Devoted Follower of the Most Holy Church of the Evil Bob. Possessed and down the road to become chaotic, evil & naughty. All hail the Evil Bob and his Stargate.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm still not sure if these melee attacks are allowed:


Luke Skywalker attacks with his lightsabre the adjacent Bantha, but the Imperial Officer blocks LOS. However, the Bantha is still adjacent to Luke, right? So allowed or not?


Similar situation here: the Wookie attacks the Imperial Probe in melee, although the troopers block LOS, the probe is still adjacent to the Wookie, right?

Thanks for any insight. meeple
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They do not block line of sight.

Spaces that share a corner are adjacent unless door, wall, or blocking terrain meet in the corner.

Melee attack only requires adjacency. (Melee attack with reach would require the target to be within 2 spaces and in line of sight.) Luke is adjacent to the Bantha and Gaarkhan is adjacent to the Probe Droid.

Adjacent figures always have line of sight to each other, so Luke has line of sight to the Bantha Rider (also, figures do not block line of sight to and from massive figures such as Bantha Rider), and Gaarkhan has line of sight to the Probe Droid.
8 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
“It's all in the mind.” ― George Harrison
badge
Devoted Follower of the Most Holy Church of the Evil Bob. Possessed and down the road to become chaotic, evil & naughty. All hail the Evil Bob and his Stargate.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you very much Pasi, so we had it right! meeple
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Gienger
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
None of your examples is blocking LoS.

1) Luke can draw LoS from the corner he shares with the bantha to any corners of the Bantha. Also figures to not block LoS to or from massive figures. Also yes, they are also adjacent

2) Gaarkhan can draw LoS from the corner he shares with the droid to any corner of the droid. So he has LoS as well and they are adjacent.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Tom Casual of Orange Nebula
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All these line of sight questions make it pretty clear the line of sight in this game is seriously over complicated
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CasualToast wrote:
All these line of sight questions make it pretty clear the line of sight in this game is seriously over complicated

Line of sight rules are always almost always complicated. They need to be in order to generate interesting circumstances.

The LoS rules in SWIA work quite well thematically and are an interesting thing to work with. The reason why we get lots of questions is the rules are different to the usual ones and people make assumptions due to other systems, and the assumptions are often incorrect.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Gienger
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I actually think that LoS is not a problem this game has. The LoS rules are actually great and the best I've encountered in these games!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nolan Cluff

California
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
CasualToast wrote:
All these line of sight questions make it pretty clear the line of sight in this game is seriously over complicated

I don't think they are complicated. They are just unusually uncomplicated.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.